Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 42 minutes, 21 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 1 hour, 42 minutes, 22 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Antagonist - Jonathan Whiting - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    This is in some ways a 2d de-make of a 3d game idea that I'll probably never get round to actually making.

    It's relatively typical flash platformer fare. However the antagonist is far away from typical anything, and it's coming to get you!

    wsad or arrow keys to move, space or z to jump if that's more comfy for you. Hope you enjoy it :-)

    Special prize to whoever manages to complete it sub 3 minute run without dying?

    View Jonathan Whiting's journal. | View all entries by Jonathan Whiting

    Ratings

    #14Theme4.00
    #22Community3.68
    #30Fun3.60
    #39Overall3.67
    #56Audio3.43
    #81Graphics3.53
    #177Humor2.13
    #190Innovation3.03
    #246Coolness2%

    Comments

    Jerm says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:39am

    Challenge accepted: http://jerm.geek.nz/ld21/AntagonistWin.png

    Also, great game!

    kevglass says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 12:41pm

    Fun but the jump feels a little stunted. Nice chase game.

    Klare says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:32pm

    This game is great! Graphics are amazing. I thought there was no hope for survival at the end, but I was wrong :p Awesome job.

    Almost says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:58pm

    I died at the end because I jumped to avoid the disappearing ground and this slowed me down too much :(

    Very cool though

    Terra says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:56pm

    Pretty fun, but I'm not sure if I like the slowing down after landing.

    I really liked how the ending played out, and I particularly enjoyed a lot of the level elements too.

    Zed says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:10am

    As others have said, the sudden pause when you've jumped is REALLY annoying. Other than that, it's very cool.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:58am

    Very hard for me, I kept getting trapped because of those spawners! Still looks like a good game. Graphics are pretty cool too; some good colours you use there.

    My biggest annoyance is jumping. For it's too slow, and too low.

    Basilios says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:06am

    I got stuck somewhere before the end, but I enjoyed what I played. Love the art style and soundtrack.

    I also completely disagree with everybody else when it comes to the jumping -- I actually really liked the fact that the character had to recover before jumping again. Too often characters have springs for legs.

    ToxicLogic says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 2:32am

    Excellent! Difficulty was just right - I liked the parts where you had to backtrack a bit to progress. I also actually kind of liked the slow-down upon landing a jump - it made quickly jumping over multiple pits more manageable and "realistic".

    heck says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 5:01am

    Very cool concept! Running game with puzzle. It reminds me of the movies where the hero is outnumbered and being chase by the enemies, and he tricked and mislead the enemies.

    Great music & sounds too. But, the antagonist teleport sfx is too painful for the ears. Did you do the music yourself?

    Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:50am

    Jerm: Oh, wow, that's quite a time. Have a couple of ideas for your prize, but need a little time to prep it. Hope you don't mind the wait.

    heck: Of course I made the music myself! Spent a few hours on Saturday evening pulling something together in FL Studio. I'm ever so glad you liked it, music is traditionally my weak spot. That panicked but cunning chase seen feel is definitely something I was trying for.

    Generally: Thanks everyone for the kind words. So happy you're enjoying it. Also, yeah, it's not an empowering kind of jump, but for better or worse it was an intentional design decision; I wanted any progress to feel like it came from cunning, not intrinsic power.

    Cheers! :)

    localcoder says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:57am

    Clever! I hope you make the 3D version one day...

    Aug 24, 2011 @ 11:31am

    Wonderful work on the balancing and level-design side. The difficulty feels almost every time "just right".

    Hangedman says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 7:26pm

    I did like the unique jump mechanic, but it did feel at times like it was taking control from me, which is generally not the best of ideas. Nevertheless, fun and functional and I like the lo-fi CGA-ish graphics. Keep at it!

    mikolalysenko says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 4:49am

    This was great when it worked, but there were quite a few times when it felt like the level design was slightly broken. In a few places the antagonist randomly teleported on top of me and instakilled me before I had a chance to react. Other than that, great use of the theme!

    zdanielz says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 8:43pm

    Fun fame, harder than it looks! music was a tad annoying, but I found the use of the theme good and the level design nice!

    ExciteMike says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:38am

    Taking notes as I play:
    Oh hey cool the title screen was also just he start of the game.
    That skidding thing he does after you jump is pretty unpleasant.
    Not sure what the heck I'm supposed to do when he teleports right where I have to go :(
    Oh I see. HE CAN'T JUMP. So I can <spoiler>.
    This part where I have to make him break a wall of bubbly blocks. It's annoyingly far from the last checkpoint!
    MADE IT. WHEW.
    The run from the last checkpoint was cool to figure out, but it felt like it was only difficult to execute because of bad controls.

    The Bad: How bad it feels to have that slowdown on landing and changing direction so slowly.
    The Good: That was very cool level/scenario design!

    mpc174 says ...
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 1:10am

    Love the groovy music, color palette, and the overall fun and intuitive gameplay. I'm giving you quite a few stars.
    (21 deaths, not proud of that :))

    Chaoslab says ...
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 10:33am

    I enjoyed this. :-)

    bach says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:30am

    Fun and challenging game :) Enjoyed playing it.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Sep 6, 2011 @ 6:05pm

    fun, if slightly frustrating little game. liked the graphics, the music seemed pretty well suited, i think you did a good job here!

    DrPetter says ...
    Sep 9, 2011 @ 9:49pm

    Fun and challenging. Got a bit more interesting when I realized you can skip the slowdown on landing if you release the right/left key just before hitting ground. So I guess he stumbles if he tries to hit the ground running, or something? Anyway, it added an extra sense of skill and timing to the whole ordeal. Took a great many attempts before I beat the last wall, but then it was a home run and I reached the finish. You could probably extend this quite a bit with more of these complex puzzles that aren't just well-timed jumps and stairs.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]