Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 19 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Elastic Prison - bitbof - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    You are some kind of ball creature that needs to escape the pull of an elastic band that is attached to you. It gets pretty tricky, so props to anyone who finishes it!

    Made using Java, LWJGL, EasyOgg, Photoshop and Ableton Live.

    View bitbof's journal. | View all entries by bitbof

    Ratings

    #44Innovation3.76
    #61Graphics3.67
    #65Community3.33
    #81Audio3.16
    #88Overall3.38
    #169Fun2.90
    #246Coolness2%
    #295Humor1.69
    #332Theme2.65

    Comments

    angrygeometry says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:08pm

    this is great! very nice physics game, can be frustrating but still very fun, and really dark too! the audio is really atmospheric.

    JohanAR says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:29pm

    java -Djava.library.path=. -jar elastic\ prison.jar

    to start, in case someone gets errors.. difficult game :P

    battlecommand says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:56pm

    very nice!

    pragmascript says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:51pm

    nice game very cool atmosphere.

    Jorjon says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:41am

    I can't execute *.jar files, but I can run java-based games and applications. What do I have to download? Maybe make an *.exe?

    bitbof says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:58pm

    @Jorjon Try downloading it again. I fixed the native library path.

    kavs says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 3:56pm

    I had a lot of trouble with the elastic 'resetting' on me. I'd get down to what I assumed was a 'checkpoint' (the larger balls) and I always seemed to randomly get pulled all the way back to start.

    I only seemed to be able to make progress when I had the ball in what appeared to be a glitched state. I was moving way faster than I ever had and managed to get to the second large node in one go. Unless this was just me figuring out the physics for a split-second. :P

    I loved the audio, the art, and the vibe. I just couldn't finish due to constant resetting and got frustrated.

    wonderwhy-er says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:20pm

    Very nice concept, control feel weird though. As if the longer you hold them the weaker they get.
    Failed to finish it on first run, tried now the second time and was screaming in frustration... I seriously don't get the controls. What is mechanic of "weakening" of controls?

    Anyways got till lot of small dots continued by few moving dots and was thrown back to the start.

    Anyways, I really like the concept, with some more work it can make in to a great game. If you re imagine controls for touch you can make it in to a decent Android game!

    marudziik says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:12pm

    I also like the concept, audio and graphics are really nice, but there is something weird about the controls, that makes the game a little too frustrating for me (there's a part where I cannot gain enough distance with swings, which I suppose is the way it should work, at least when strings are involved). This is, however, a minor problem, and easily fixable.
    Also, stable checkpoints would be nice. :)

    Shigor says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:06pm

    Very nice idea, but a) even after several attempts and quite a long way to go I don't understand the mechanics (and in the end got best results from semirandom mashing of the keys :D) b) reseting back after while gets really frustrating :(

    Bit work with controls and it would be really nice little game.

    johnfn says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 6:40am

    Neat little game, with a clever concept. As for criticisms, I can do little but voice the problems that everyone else has already mentioned - very frustrating to get reset, and I had problems going in certain directions and I had no idea why. Still, this game is cool, and worth further exploration and development.

    nickd3000 says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 10:34pm

    Nice atmospheric sounds and blurry background imagery. I actually really liked the mechanic of the line "popping" on to the dots. Unfortunately I got stuck at a part where i couldn't reach the next dot, but there could be a game in this :)

    bach says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:41am

    Love this. Very clever game concept and interesting mood with the audio and blurry background. I do wish that the controls were a bit more forgiving as it can get a little frustrating. But keep tweaking this, I think the idea and concept is pretty innovative.

    MacTuitui says ...
    Sep 3, 2011 @ 12:12pm

    As others have said, the controls are not intuitive (at best). That's a shame because the rest of the game is pretty solid, I really liked the title screen!

    tmajibon says ...
    Sep 5, 2011 @ 8:15am

    Honestly impressed, very complicated physics. The farther you get the tighter the elastic gets and the harder it is the move. Let along the band slipping from all the holds you hook it too slowly makes for a very engaging experience.

    Didn't beat the game (yet), but very very fun. I'd love to see this one grow.

    Benjamin says ...
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 2:03pm

    very fun game I like the controls, the physic and the checkpoint system. Maybe the difficulty curve is a bit too fast for me

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]