Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 7 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    A tale about life, death and a looser. - deepnight - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    This game was made within 9 hours (from Sunday 11:30am to 8:30pm) ^_^

    I couldn't participate to the whole 48h LD, so I decided to try to make a game in really short time (I had my Sunday free).

    Also, I wanted to try to make something complete within one normal business day (8h), just to see what I can achieve, when I really commit to it.

    So here it is ! I didn't have time to add any SFX, that was definitely too short for that... I hope you will appreciate this game anyway!

    CONTROLS :
    C - Continue your life,
    ESCAPE - Try to flee the current situation,
    ANY KEY - skip current dialog

    Hope you'll enjoy it :)

    Note : I'm sorry I didn't have time to include the happy ending branch :) The assets where almost ready (they are in the PSD source file), but I was running short on time to include it... Maybe a later version ? Check http://blog.deepnight.net for any update :)

    EDIT : timelapse released!
    EDIT 2 : changed the hosting (dropbox had some downtimes, sorry about that!)

    View deepnight's journal. | View all entries by deepnight

    Ratings

    #4Graphics4.49
    #28Theme3.89
    #47Community3.42
    #79Overall3.43
    #93Humor2.69
    #104Innovation3.42
    #287Fun2.51
    #311Coolness1%
    #366Audio1.06

    Comments

    Meedoc says ...
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 8:23pm

    oh I'm sad :( I thought you were dealing the theme as "Escape from your mother's wombe".

    Well I'll still try it later ^^

    astrkl says ...
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 8:53pm

    Very sad story :(

    VDOgamez says ...
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 9:25pm

    So... is there a good ending? I don't have the patience to exhaust the tree.

    stoz says ...
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 9:37pm

    Awesome concept! It's like a choose your own ending novel, though a bit more true to life... since your only options are to try to keep doing what you're already doing, or quit.

    Aug 21, 2011 @ 11:12pm

    That's ... depressing ... =(

    I like your pixel art!

    Tulrath says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:40am

    I think I tried pretty much every option, even the really crazy ones. I couldn't always draw the line between choices and their outcome -- like I couldn't figure out exactly how not sleeping with a woman got me fired. Probably just missing something in the conversations, though.

    Artwork was great, but it really made me sad :/

    madflame991 says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 5:21am

    Really nice story-game. Please make more after this LD

    Jorjon says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:46am

    Looking forward for the timelapse!

    deepnight says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 9:16am

    Timelapse released!

    degtyarev says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:12am

    Pretty depressing. But looks nice.

    dseidl says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:55am

    Very nice game! :)

    kevglass says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 12:06pm

    Emotion reaction was high - has to be good right? Very cool game. Excellent art.

    deepnight says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 1:04pm

    At first, it should have been a quite fun and positive game. But the lack of time made it quite depressing at the end : didn't have time to include all the subtleties I had in mind, nor the happy ending branches...

    Sorry about that ! :)

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:12pm

    The timelapse is great ! Add a depressing piano tune and you'll have a fantastic rival for Noah : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6B26asyGKDo
    I especially like "the party" picture drawing : "I met myself And I turn out to be a woman !! "

    Fantastic game by the way but the dropbox link is down most of the time ( same problem for my entry... )

    Pvaiun says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 3:37pm

    I liked it, great art and interesting concept. However, I didn't read all the way through your post to realize that there was no happy ending. I spent a good 15 minutes exhausting every option only to find that you always die a sad death.

    Bogdan6 says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:40pm

    funny

    Aug 22, 2011 @ 4:49pm

    Good concept, well executed. The graphics were simple, but you shaded the pixels to make it look deliberate, and that's pretty good. Waiting through the slides is a little annoying--I'd like to quickly gather the jist of what happens and move on. Other than that, pretty good.

    lilserf says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 6:48pm

    I really like the art style. Yeah, kind of all bummer endings right now though :)

    Andrew says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:06pm

    Because no matter what you do you still end up in the same place

    Winterblood says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:01pm

    Nine hours!? Fantastic. Nice reductionist approach to choice, and (of course) superb art stylings.

    James Paige says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:28am

    Your pixels are fantastic. This game made me laugh out loud, but it also made me sad.

    Minor complaint: I had to keep clicking with the mouse to get it to accept my keypresses

    nitram_cero says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:32am

    I played it like 6 times.
    Nice artwork!
    Too pesimistic story. Funny sometimes, but I don't like the concept of such a linear life and that no matter the choice you always end up a f*ck up.

    johanp says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 6:05am

    It is quite pretty but a bit too static for my taste. Also the consequences of choices sometimes felt random.

    Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:11am

    I liked your game a lot.

    superflat says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:00am

    Very nice work. I wished for the interactive moments to be better signposted, but otherwise great.

    Danik says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 7:16pm

    It doesn't register my keypress when I press escape. C and "any key" works.

    Cirrial says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 8:28pm

    Nice art, depressing fatalistic storylines, and generally an interesting interpretation of the theme. Personally, though, I didn't find there to be a great deal of interesting gameplay here. This is almost the purest form of narrativism I've found, but I'm only beginning rating, so I might find more. Excellent work given the timescale, though!

    Aug 24, 2011 @ 3:09pm

    Neat idea.

    jonbro says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 9:15pm

    nice visual comic book... I wanted to exhaust the tree, but I didn't want to wait for fade ins. I wonder if there is a way to fix that without killing the mood.

    Shigor says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 2:24am

    Good job, especially for 9 hours wonder :) Not sure if i'd call it a game but anyway, one of the more interesting entries I've encountered (I'm a sucker for emotions it seems :)

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 12:30am

    This is delightfully depressing. Well done.

    DrPetter says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 9:19am

    Pretty and sort of charming, but do make it happy next time! At least some funny deaths would have been a nice twist. Maybe just a souvenir item next to the grave could add a sense of needed humor there. Also, time is never too short for sfx, but I suspect token bleeps wouldn't really add to this sort of game. Could be interesting with looped environmental noises that match each situation. Heartbeats, footsteps, ticking clock, creaking bed, etc.

    Orz says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 5:12pm

    It took me a while to warm up to it, but I like it. I kind of wish there were more games out there in this style.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]