Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 21 hours, 3 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Planetary Mission - NMcCoy - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    Z = jump, X = fire
    I coded this on a friend's computer, so if there's a weird @author comment in a source file I've overlooked, that's why. All assets and code are my own.

    View NMcCoy's journal. | View all entries by NMcCoy

    Ratings

    #39Audio3.63
    #40Fun3.53
    #63Overall3.53
    #68Theme3.63
    #125Humor2.45
    #128Graphics3.28
    #233Innovation2.81
    #295Community2.27
    #418Coolness0%

    Comments

    kavs says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 7:42pm

    Not bad! Smooth gameplay and I finished at just the right timing, so your pacing is good.

    I was confused with the startup that it puts you on that screen, and don't really understand the story or why I have the end time that I did. Or the artifact rating. I guess it's a parody of MegaMan or something? :P

    Either way, well done!

    kevglass says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:00pm

    Fantastically solid platformer, nice to play thought the hit box for the player seemed a bit off.

    NMcCoy says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 8:24pm

    Notionally, this is the very last segment (i.e., post-last-boss escape sequence) of a fictitious NES-era Metroid knockoff, being played on an emulator.

    splixel says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:50pm

    Awesome, I love the idea behind this one. Great fun too!

    Bleck says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:02pm

    Physics are a little slippery. I kept falling off the platforms.

    Mark Overmars says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 11:22pm

    Wow, this is a good game. The graphics and audio were great given the time constraint.

    krangGAMES says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 4:51am

    That was awesome! A great bite-sized little game!

    The intro was great, at first I thought you had accidentally uploaded a partially completed debug build or something. After the game, I understood the tongue-in-cheek stats screen. ;)

    Audio was excellent, gameplay was solid, I finished with LITERALLY one second left so the timing was obviously very well tuned. My only complaint is that controlling the player in mid-air was a bit uncomfortable, and made some platforming sections frustrating. I got used to it though, and it didn't detract from gameplay.

    Great work!

    Hangedman says ...
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 8:37pm

    Haha, nice little parody. Strange, but fun and functional. Controls were kind of floaty.

    hayfield says ...
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 11:20am

    When you land you seem to slide a block in whatever direction you were moving in (unless you're pressing to move the other way), making it hard to accurately land on the smaller platforms.

    mtthwcmpbll says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 3:22am

    Awesome all-around - I had trouble getting used to the slippery controls though, I felt like I was sliding off platforms and taking forever to stop on the ground. Other than that, I loved the chain reaction effect and the music and visuals made for a fun escape sequence. I was also confused about the startup screen, but I see that explained here in the comments and I like the idea a lot. Nice job!

    pdyxs says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 12:07pm

    Nicely done! The artefact rating confused the hell out of me, but the basic gameplay was awesome!

    summaky says ...
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 5:50pm

    Very nice platformer, although I also was a little confused by the start screen :-)

    Edsploration says ...
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 6:31pm

    ooooo I like this one! Great idea with the start screen and "load state" upon death. Short but good level design. Controls felt a bit slidey (and a bit default Flixel physics) for asking the player to traverse one-space-wide platforms.. although it's a small quip because the player could have been faster and not faced it, and supposedly they have already been playing this game and learning the controls for over 46 hours.

    Rudy says ...
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 1:38pm

    Nice little game, like the blow-up mechanic. Controls are good, only friction is too low, causing occasional slide-off-platform. The game is slightly on the hard side, but not frustrating, and quite finishable. Art is a bit minimalistic, but it works. Decent music, but may be not "panicky" enough for the scenario.

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 4, 2011 @ 6:19pm

    Controls feel a little slippery, but I managed to beat it. Twice. :] I like the look and feel, graphics are very consistent, audio is... well, awesome. A very nice entry, and damn, I don't really see any flaws! One can even use the delayed tiles explosion to travel faster through parts of the level and I'm quite sure it's an intended feature.

    I definitely would like to play all "other levels". :)

    Chaoslab says ...
    Sep 5, 2011 @ 9:53pm

    Found this kind of addictive and enjoyed finishing it! Nice work, had a completed feel about it! :-)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]