Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 3 hours, 27 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 21

    August 19th-22nd 2011 :: Theme: Escape
    [ Summary | Compo Top 50 | Jam Top 50 | Top 25 Categories | View All (599) ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ascapen Prime - Six - 48 Hour Competition Entry

    Having battled your way through to the centre of the complex, you now just have to end this fight. Destroy the core and win victory for the cause.

    View Six's journal. | View all entries by Six

    Ratings

    #49Theme3.73
    #79Humor2.79
    #101Fun3.18
    #112Overall3.32
    #183Coolness3%
    #186Graphics3.05
    #212Innovation2.91
    #365Audio1.08
    #389Community1.83

    Comments

    Nizan says ...
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:59pm

    I actually really liked this, when the twist came and you started running away I actually went "Hah!" :D

    Klare says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 1:37am

    Fun, though I can't get past the overdrive mode. The blocks are coming so fast that I can't react in time, especially when I'm dealing with meanies in front of me.

    Maybe if there was epic music I'd be able to keep going :p

    Six says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 2:32am

    @Klare
    Agreed on music, a punishing dodging game like this pretty much needs an epic soundtrack to keep people at it. Too bad I'm rubbish at music.

    And a small tip: the spawn rate of the barriers actually is dependant on how far left you are, so if you hang closer to the core, less will spawn (but it's easier to be knocked into it :P ).

    nitram_cero says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 5:08am

    Nice game!
    It would have definetly benefited with some SFXR/BFXR sounds.

    mes says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 9:19am

    great job. i really like the presentation of the plot and the simple but nice graphics. wish it was wider so i could see the walls coming and have enough time to dodge them.

    Kouta says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:13am

    2 stars on audio as I firmly believe no audio is better than bad audio.

    localcoder says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:14pm

    I like the story progression - the set up and reversal and overdrive. The signs marking the distance to the exit are a nice touch too.

    The difficulty was perfect for me - I won on my first attempt, but I felt like I was going to lose the whole way through. It was delightfully stressful...

    JohanAR says ...
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:45pm

    I think I crashed with every single gray obstacle hehe

    wbobeirne says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:35pm

    Tough game, but the regenerating health made it just forgivable enough to complete. The difference in speed when shooting and not shooting made for some good fight-or-flight decisions. I feel like the obstacles were a bit too big considering their speed though. Would love to see some sound on this one.

    Awesome entry.

    pekuja says ...
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 6:40pm

    Wow, it's really hard to dodge the blocks. I mostly just focused on the little satellites that the core was launching and hoped that maybe I'd be able to dodge at least some of the blocks with luck. Cool game though. I really like that you start it as a regular shooter.
    Btw, I got the Portal reference from just "WOOOOOOOOOOOOO <SPACE>", not sure if that was intentional.

    siebharinn says ...
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 1:56am

    Nice entry. I kept slamming into blocks though. :(

    Andrew says ...
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:31am

    A shooter where you run away from the boss? I never saw it coming! :D

    Dodging the obstacles is very hard though, the limited space doesn't leave much for manoeuvring.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]