Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 2 hours, 50 minutes, 5 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Officer Alfred - Hempuli - Competition Entry

    Officer Alfred is a puzzle platformer that uses a time-related trick. It's probably pretty hard, but there's a story and nice graphics so do give it a try!

    Controls are simple:
    -Arrows to move
    -S to jump
    -D to perform a special move (explained further in-game)

    I'm quite sad that I didn't have time to use any better sounds; I think the game might have benefitted from that.

    View Hempuli's journal. | View all entries by Hempuli

    Ratings

    #4Innovation4.23
    #4Overall4.15
    #5Fun3.96
    #12Graphics4.23
    #64Community3.27
    #103Coolness6%
    #103Audio2.74
    #142Humor2.44
    #167Theme2.59

    Comments

    DrunkenOrc says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:18am

    Oh jeez walking on the shrapnel from the exploded bombs is impossible.

    Other than that really cool.

    Manuel777 says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:20am

    I got totally stuck on the part where i have to throw the crate on the laser or plasma or whatever that red thig was :P
    But despite that, i loved almost everything on it, great game, yesss

    vandriver says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:52am

    Haha, the 'ending' cracked me up. This was amazing and a very fun kind of frustrating. i love it!

    Hempuli says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:23am

    I made a really small visual bugfix to make the laser/crate part easier. Bad design to have the threats out of your vision, huh?
    Thanks for the compliments. :)

    Stalker_23b says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:40am

    Very good game, but i gived up in room with two opposing guns with buttons )

    jarnik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:53am

    The idea itself is pretty amazing, but the game does not stay much behind. Loved it!

    Hempuli says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:56am

    I guess the room with the two cannons is a bit too much for most. It's the penultimate puzzle, though, so try to understand! I think I'll make a new version with a better difficulty curve later.

    Danik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:25pm

    This is too good, loved it!

    erik says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 6:37am

    Really solid, well done. I liked the puzzles and the game mechanics. I really wanted to get to the mysterious guy in the lower hallway, but I couldn't find a way to do it. Too bad about the end.

    Hempuli says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 8:07am

    In fact, getting to him is possible. Count that as an easter egg. Thanks!

    abracadabra says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 3:41pm

    Got it to the guy! Check it out:
    http://img831.imageshack.us/i/picture8vku.png/

    May 4, 2011 @ 2:24am

    Wow, great work for a 48.

    Small collision issue on the first elevator had me moonwalking up through the second floor and breaking the game, but that's only if players try to leave before the elevator reaches the bottom.

    Solid, very nice work visually.

    Cosr says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 10:01am

    Tricky, but definitely a fun mechanic. I sadly gave up on the puzzle with the twin cannons and didn't see the end. Might try again later if I feel like it though.
    I really liked the monochrome graphics, in general.

    randomnine says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 5:22pm

    Brilliant concept, near-perfect execution, let down somewhat by ridiculously fiddly precision jumping/climbing/timing on most of the later puzzles.

    Best LD20 game I've played yet. Excellent work.

    May 4, 2011 @ 6:49pm

    Great work! I like the graphical style and overall feel, though the air controls can be a bit unforgiving when trying to land on tiny shrapnel pieces.

    superflat says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 5:18pm

    Very cool concept, well introduced. Great atmosphere.

    I wanted to love it but ended up tearing my hair out in frustration. The crate puzzle - 60 deaths or so. I eventually gave up beacause of what appeared to be bugs - the crate would only respawn if time wasn't stopped, so I had to kill myself loads of times just to get another crate. Then there was the fact that the laser dots killed me even when frozen (not the laser itself, the particles which hit the box.) So many times I got the crate to block the laser nicely, then died to a stray particle. In fact, now that I think about it, these two things are related as you can only die in freeze mode if there's something wrong haha.

    In the end I got really annoyed and ragequit. I only ragequit because it was something I was really enjoying and wanted to finish!

    Anyway, I hope you make it a tiny touch easier if you come back to it. I'd definitely try again.

    Hempuli says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 7:11pm

    superflat: The particles are 100% unable to kill you, time stopped or not. I wonder what it was that killed you, though! I'm not sure how it would be a bug that the create only respawned when time wasn't stopped; seems quite logical to me.

    I agree with all the difficulty/bad puzzle feedback, though! Try to understand. I hope you can appreciate the game despite those design flaws.

    superflat says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 8:40pm

    Haha yeah I guess it makes sense for the crate to only respawn if time is not stopped, but I also imagine that you'd lose your grip on time if you died.

    I'm really not sure what it was then that was killing me on the laser, unless I was accidentally hitting D instead of S?

    Anyway, only wanted to say all this (and come back to see if you replied) because I think the game's wonderful for the most part. :)

    Winterblood says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 10:57pm

    Incredibly inventive puzzles AND elegant art AND extensive level building for 48h! I take my hat off to you...but also brandish a fist for the INSANE DEVIOUSNESS of your puzzles. My D key may never recover.

    elbowroom says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 11:27pm

    omg, you didn't have time to make a proper ending? didn't have [i]time[/i] huh? wow, this game was amazing! I'm not sure if I picked the route you designed in the

    *spoiler*
    .
    .
    .


    part with the two cannons.. however, whatever I did seemed to have worked fine only so I could die in an elevator?
    Awesome game, riding the *spoiler* during the last part was pure genious on your part. I didn't know a game so beautiful and lovely could be made until I played this.
    I would vote this for #1 game in this LD but alas I can only five it.. one thing though, I can sort of how you used the theme in plot but it was not really part of the game..

    Anyhow, your game swept me off my feet, I did not enjoy a game this much every since I player "Another World" on the Genesis so many years ago.

    Great job.

    Knighty says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 6:08am

    The ending startled me a little, wasn't expecting that to happen. >_>
    It was a bit difficult jumping on shrapnel and waterdrops a few pixels big, but not too difficult.

    Rikkard says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 6:27am

    I like the game concept, but it is a little unforgiving. Had to give up on the twin cannon shrapnel thing. Maybe I am tired.

    Endurion says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 12:37pm

    Aw, dang. I love it, it looks great and mostly plays good. But the crate/laser puzzle did me in. I just never got it right.
    Well done!

    amassingham says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 2:34am

    very nice indeed.

    A few frustrating bits, but they were satisfying when you figured out what you had to do. Maybe rather add some easing to the time stopping/starting? Might make timing of events ( like dropping the crate down to block the lasers ) a little bit easier.

    Hectigo says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 9:32pm

    Please make the game easier. The mechanics are downright brilliant, but jumping on pixel-sized shrapnel is more an annoyance than entertainment. Such great graphics too, this one is a real diamond in the rough that deserves a bit more polish.

    PsySal says ...
    May 12, 2011 @ 6:08am

    Fantastic game! I really enjoyed the puzzles here, needless to say. Didn't quite beat it but awesome nontheless...

    eli says ...
    May 19, 2011 @ 6:06am

    As always, a seemingly impossible feat for 48 hours! Your work is beautiful and inspiring. I made it to the piloting-the-red-blob-missile-up-the-gap puzzle (or first one thereof :D ) and decided I had seen enough. Great work on graphics especially.

    I know this mechanic took some effort to create, but I personally would have liked to see more polish on the platforming aspect. It's not so much a hard game as it is frustrating.

    kylerhoades says ...
    May 19, 2011 @ 12:13pm

    This game is awesome! Loved riding the missile at the end (although I rode it everywhere else before I rode it to the right place :p). Really immersive atmosphere and a lot of fun. I liked that it was hard - still kept my interest to the end. Fantastic work mate.

    mwest says ...
    May 21, 2011 @ 10:24pm

    Really awesome game - well done!

    ACodeGerm says ...
    May 23, 2011 @ 7:33am

    Mmm, very nifty puzzles. Great aesthetic. Only game so far that I've tagged with five stars for innovation.

    Amazing for 48 hours.

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 26, 2011 @ 2:43am

    This game is superb! You put us to shame for a 48h contest. I thought the difficulty was perfect, personally. It was fun trying to figure out the harder jumping puzzles and get good at them. (After "winning" I went back and found the easter egg guy, which was a lovely reward, and didn't even dread having to do the dual cannons again.)

    Protip for cannons: You can make a cannon have like 8 bombs in flight simultaneously.

    jimlefevre says ...
    Jun 6, 2011 @ 2:19pm

    Oh wowzers trousers. This is such a high standard. Looks, gameplay and draw.

    Well done Hempuli (oddly enough I was playing Beyond the Black Hole this morning. 'Tis a Hempuliday

    AyCe says ...
    Jul 4, 2011 @ 9:31pm

    I'm on top of the elevator. What now?

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]