Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 4 hours, 24 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    It's Dangerous: The Escort Quest - nitrik - Competition Entry

    To play, unzip the folder and launch the web page "play_game.html".

    I had a lot of fun - this being my first Ludum Dare, I definitely didn't have time for everything I thought I would (like a background). Still, I'm happy with what I managed to complete. Enjoy!

    View nitrik's journal. | View all entries by nitrik

    Ratings

    #23Innovation3.83
    #49Fun3.44
    #51Overall3.44
    #69Theme3.22
    #119Coolness5%
    #124Humor2.56
    #180Graphics2.72
    #249Audio1.40
    #259Community1.75

    Comments

    nitrik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:49am

    Forgot to mention above, the game is played using the mouse (just in case it's not obvious).

    fueelin says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 6:27am

    Overall I really liked it! I thought the main mechanic was very interesting and was used in some pretty cool ways. Unfortunately, I found the controls to be frustratingly inconsistent. In some parts (like the room with 3 bouncing red things that you have to trap in various parts), I couldn't get the fairy to place/remove blocks nearly responsively enough. But other than that little complaint I really liked the game! My favorite so far.

    Xedfire says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 6:03pm

    NICE

    ladron says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:15pm

    Very clever idea, and it worked really well too! I got to the bit near the end with the three bouncing red things, but couldn't get past.

    Auto-scrolling to follow the hero would be nice - perhaps being overridden if you mouse to the edges to look ahead.

    Nice job!

    nitrik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:55pm

    Thanks! @fueelin: I agree, for some reason I decided to make the blocks toggle when you release the mouse button, as opposed to when you press it. Seemed like a good idea at 1am :)

    mwest says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 5:58pm

    Took me a while to figure out that I need to scroll manually and I got stuck at the first 2 bouncing red blocks :(... The slow speed at which the character moves is a bit annoying when you try the same puzzle 10 times...

    Other than that, good idea and well done!

    May 4, 2011 @ 4:02pm

    Very well done, very innovative!

    I was rather disappointed there wasn't more, so that's a good thing.

    Great work, highly recommend you polish this further.

    eli says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 8:24pm

    Love this game mechanic! Another win for NPC-games!
    Some of the puzzles were very clever!
    The fact that I could figure them out probably means that the difficulty could be raised a bit :D

    I thought there was a huge scrolling bug until I realized that the mouse controlled it. Afterwards, it was fine.

    The dialog added a lot.

    Good work!!

    Draknek says ...
    May 11, 2011 @ 3:56pm

    Not sure why it's a download when it runs in a browser. Next time it'd be worth finding someone that can host it for you if you don't have a website yourself.

    I opened it up in the background then closed it because I wasn't sure if there was an opening I'd missed. Now the guy is just running in a black void: he jumps off the right edge of a platform and when he hits the bottom he respawns to repeat it forever.

    Restarting doesn't get me anywhere: he's just stuck like this...

    May 12, 2011 @ 11:05am

    Aren't those Mega-Man animations?

    nitrik says ...
    May 13, 2011 @ 3:17am

    @Draknek: hmm, I thought I fixed that bug...I think you'll have to re-download the game if you want to play it.

    @matthias: yep, good eye! Although they're not the identical sprites, I used them as reference material when drawing my own.

    Endurion says ...
    May 13, 2011 @ 6:41am

    Surprisingly good game :)
    I expected a platformer of some kind on first glance. I also like the ensuing dialog throughout the game. Good one!

    tzachs says ...
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:07am

    Nice, innovative and clever!
    I very much enjoyed the in-game dialogs,
    It would be nice if you could control the speed of the hero somehow, as I found myself waiting for him a lot.
    Also, the controls felt a bit clunky. For example, in the last part I knew that I had to remove the block from underneath the hero as he walks on it, but it still took me like seven times until I managed it...

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]