Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 9 hours, 12 minutes, 58 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 9 hours, 12 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Innocence - LegacyCrono - Competition Entry

    "Innocence" is a shoot-'em-up with online highscores.
    There's only three levels... I thought I'd have time to make more, but making the art was troublesome.

    Move with arrow keys.
    Shoot with Z or Space keys.

    Obs: there's no preloader, so it might take some time to show the title screen. :P

    View LegacyCrono's journal. | View all entries by LegacyCrono

    Ratings

    #25Coolness20%
    #30Audio3.51
    #84Graphics3.33
    #89Community3.00
    #119Fun2.98
    #127Overall3.00
    #267Innovation1.90
    #269Humor1.61
    #269Theme1.67

    Comments

    localcoder says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:22am

    I liked the graphics, music, and especially the hints of a story.

    But I couldn't survive for more than a few seconds! maybe people who are used to playing shmups will perform better, but I found this much too hard.

    ratking says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:10am

    Haha, yes, very hard. Could not play more than a few seconds, either. ;)
    Nice nonetheless.

    Jhelle says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:29pm

    Challenging, fun, pretty patterns and nice music (first stage only :( ). Good job!

    stigrv says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:32pm

    This was truly bullet hell. Still a pretty good game. Loved the music and graphics.

    Winterblood says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:44pm

    It's pretty hardcore from the off, I could barely get past the first wave. Very polished gameplay though, and elegant art style!

    Gopher says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 3:47am

    would've tried more times if the opening text didn't last longer than my first 10 lives... XD I suck at bullet hell games though. Very pretty, very nice :)

    BurnZeZ says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 4:22am

    Couldn't play due to massive lag. Unfortunate. :(

    zachstronaut says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 9:10pm

    Holy crap, that's hard... or I suck. =) Wish that I didn't have to sit through the story intro when I restart.

    May 4, 2011 @ 3:32am

    Hard. Good, but hard.

    Cosr says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 7:58am

    It's fun and the music is nice; just kinda grooves in the background.
    I found it a little difficult to tell where exactly the hit box on the player is, which is maybe important in this kind of game.

    Kynrael says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 3:17pm

    Hardcore ! But fun :)

    qrunchmonkey says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 4:12am

    Holy crap that bullet storm starts fast.

    TellusE says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 3:51pm

    Bullet hell, and quite well tweaked at that. I found that on the second boss and the circular firing patterns with a single hole was impossible to dodge from the left side of the screen when it reset back to the right - the player simply doesn't move quick enough, methinks :-X

    The music had an excellent way of amplifying the hectic action on-screen, keeping up the adrenaline. Likewise, the graphics were smooth and pretty, perfectly accentuating what they were and how they could be hit.

    However, I couldn't help but feel that the game was completely devoid of anything related to the theme :-/

    nilstastic says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 2:50pm

    Nice graphics, to bad the game was so god damn hard i could only survive to the second wave (where there were some nice effects). =)

    elbowroom says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 2:55am

    I enjoy this a lot and I'm not a big fan of the genre so you must have done something right as I feel this could appeal to a wide audiance.

    Draknek says ...
    May 11, 2011 @ 3:31pm

    If I hold down the shoot button it only fires three shots at a time, but if I mash it I can shoot constantly. Is this intentional?

    Having to replay the start every time just gets too frustrating to want to continue. I probably would have played for much longer if I'd had a hefty score penalty whenever I died but was immediately thrown back into the action.

    Endurion says ...
    May 12, 2011 @ 4:42pm

    Not my type of game.
    Means I don't get anywhere ;)

    mwest says ...
    May 14, 2011 @ 9:31pm

    Too hard for me, but fairly pretty and sounds good!

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    May 15, 2011 @ 11:50pm

    That is a pretty catchy tune. Bullet hell games aren't my thing, but this was quite enjoyable.

    Knighty says ...
    May 17, 2011 @ 5:47am

    Pretty good. Seems pretty Touhou-ish, especially with the point items. The sound it makes when you shoot, and that you had to tap Z instead just holding it, got a bit annoying after a while. Every once in a while I would get some lag where the controls became unresponsive for a second, which can be deadly in a game like this. Also don't see how this relates to the theme.

    Jacob says ...
    May 18, 2011 @ 4:37am

    Too difficult for a shooter nub like me, but looks great and is pretty satisfying (the minute of gameplay I can survive at least!)

    erik says ...
    May 23, 2011 @ 12:04am

    Crazy hard and unforgiving. And the wait at the start for the action to begin gets a bit frustrating after the 5th time. But there are some stylistic touches that are really nice.

    ACodeGerm says ...
    May 23, 2011 @ 9:22am

    I feel like this isn't getting enough love.

    The real genius here is the point/health system(losing at least 10K each time you're hit) and the highscore table.

    Bullet hell games are hard to tweak for a wide audience, but the synergy between those two features really put this game over the top. Great stuff!

    jonbro says ...
    May 23, 2011 @ 2:44pm

    MAN THAT WAS HARD! I struggle with difficulty balancing myself, but I wonder if the idea from nmccoy would help with this, waking up first thing in the morning and playing it to see if you can get through it.

    Also a few shmup touches, if there was a tiny bit of acceleration that applied to your ship I think that would help the feel a ton..

    lingmops says ...
    May 23, 2011 @ 6:52pm

    Oh god it's so HAAAARRRD!!

    lingmops says ...
    May 23, 2011 @ 6:55pm

    Also, my housemate has been singing the music, so I guess it's officially catchy ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]