Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 1 hour, 30 minutes, 21 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 1 hour, 30 minutes, 22 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Torch - alexlarioza - Competition Entry

    Torch is a simple platformer that I've whipped up for LD#20. Use the arrow keys to move/jump. Avoid obstacles and make your way down to your girlfriend. I was cut a bit short so the game is missing a proper game win screen as well as sound effects/music. Hope you enjoy! =]

    [edit] You must stay within the torch's light, even if you are not holding it. If you are in darkness, you will slowly go insane. Your meter will refill if you are in the light. Falling from high places will cause you to drop your torch. Monsters also make you drop your torch or take it from you.

    Bugs:
    -After you die, torch light in not always reset. Kill your self again to fix.
    -The world camera does not stop at level boundaries, hence grey areas outside the map.
    -Torch some times gets stuck in walls
    -Occasional physics hiccups.

    I will be doing a post-compo version that addresses these bugs as well as a soundtrack/music. =]

    -Alex

    View alexlarioza's journal. | View all entries by alexlarioza

    Ratings

    Coolness25%
    #48Theme3.47
    #65Innovation3.38
    #70Fun3.32
    #75Overall3.30
    #82Graphics3.36
    #106Community2.93
    #240Humor1.84
    #257Audio1.37

    Comments

    jarnik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:02am

    Hey, I beat it and it's actually pretty good! Tough enough, but not too hard. I liked all these different creatures.

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 7:49pm

    @jarnik Thank you! I'm glad it wasn't too easy. ;]

    erik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:27pm

    I liked the art, and the game was pretty fun to play. There were a couple of blind jumps that I found frustrating.

    Almost says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 12:39am

    blind jumps, spikes, and fall dropping the torch are all annoying.

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 12:59am

    There are no blind jumps.

    Spoiler Alert:
    There IS a section where if you go the wrong way, you have to drop down the cliff. If you go the right way, which is sorta hidden under a ledge, there should be no problem. If you were surviving that blind jump, then props to you because I couldn't do it. =P

    Milo says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 1:30am

    Fun! It was just easy enough for me to finish before I got frustrated. One more bat, and I would've been done. Excellent job.

    Gopher says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:22am

    reading your comments I suspect the "impossible jump" I was stuck at was this "wrong way" you're referring to. Other than getting stuck there, quite fun, I may have to come back later and see if I can find the RIGHT way :)

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:58am

    @Milio Awesome!

    @Gopher Yes, I think I will make the 'deadend' more obvious in the post-compo version.

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 4:04am

    I've updated my entry with my post mortem. The post mortem show's the way around the 'blind jump' for people who were too frustrated to continue.

    haqu says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 4:44am

    i like your game. although it's really hard and i couldn't beat it :)

    Knighty says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 10:01am

    Pretty fun, although it was a little annoying having to wait for those disappearing blocks to reappear. Maybe make it so the blocks reappear whenever you die, so you don't have to wait.

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 4:48pm

    @haqu @Knighty

    Thanks guys, I will be releasing a post-compo verion soon that addresses difficulty and annoying things. ;]

    hexygen says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 9:34pm

    It's a nice idea, but I found it really frustrating (even though I eventually managed to stick around and finish it...).

    I like the idea that the monsters drop your light source so you have a "second chance" of getting it before you go insane.

    May 6, 2011 @ 12:25am

    Cool, like a micro-minimalist version of Amnesia.

    Great job.

    hamster_mk_4 says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 5:41am

    I like how the monsters are not insta kills, but some of the platform jumping got really frustrating.

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 6:34am

    @hexygen Thank you for finishing it! =] Sorry the ending is so anticlimactic.

    @Dark Acre Jack Someone said that in IRC too! It's funny because out of all the games I thought about borrowing ideas from, Amnesia was not one of them.

    @hamster_mk_4 I have problems making things easy. =P Be thankful someone suggested checkpoints or I would have never considered putting them in there,

    May 6, 2011 @ 6:57am

    well done. great pixel game.

    May 7, 2011 @ 12:00pm

    That death-meachnaic is pretty good.

    elbowroom says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 10:06pm

    It was rather callenging to say the least..
    Interesting idea where the enemies grab the source of your sanity rather than target you directly.
    It was fun but it started off too difficult.. mainly cause you could not see where you are going and had to plan from what you remember of your last death to find the right spot to jump to.
    The was a minor bug where I often found myself going through the floor. I think with just some graphics for the main characters and a little bit larger light radius, this game would rock.

    amassingham says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 2:21am

    Nice little game. Though platformers generally frustrate me. I like the staying in the light concept.

    I love the light-stealing bats.

    It would be nice if the player's velocity dropped a lot faster. I found myself skating off a lot of ledges after a jump.

    May 9, 2011 @ 6:34am

    I couldn't quite manage to make it all the way to the end with the time I have, but its quite fun. Spelunky tricked me into thinking I could walk horizontally through spikes. Some of the jump feel is a little cramped, but it works pretty well overall.

    eli says ...
    May 14, 2011 @ 9:08am

    Devious monsters!! I felt I could skip a few parts if I could fall more skillfully (and not drop the torch too far). Exciting game. Maybe a bit too frustrating for some of the "complex" timed jumps, but at least I could rely on checkpoints. The torch mechanic works very well. Maybe future puzzles could deliberately separate you from the torch for certain parts.

    The best part was the beady eyes in the darkness.

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 14, 2011 @ 7:03pm

    @eli That was a bit of an oversight on my part, I didn't test for ways to cheat the game. The post compo version has fall damage though. =D

    mwest says ...
    May 14, 2011 @ 7:25pm

    Looks like a good entry, well done!

    I think I may have missed the good parts :-(... got stuck at a jump near some lava pretty early on...

    natpat says ...
    May 20, 2011 @ 3:34pm

    Fun game! Nice concept, and the graphics were rather sweet too. :)

    Blodyavenger says ...
    May 22, 2011 @ 8:35pm

    I was angry at those bats! Stealing torch like it's theirs...grrr.
    But hey, I had lots of fun playing this solid game, nicely done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]