Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 17 hours, 45 minutes, 21 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 18 hours, 33 minutes, 21 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Appy 1000mg - deepnight - Competition Entry

    I really enjoyed doing this one, even if I got lost completely on the first day, wandering between ideas. Finally, a friend of mine pointed out a detail which unlocked everything.

    I didn't have time to add sounds, so I highly suggest to play an ambient music of yours. I personally recommend the Myst Exile soundtrack.

    Thank you Benjamin.


    [About the enhanced version]

    I fixed many little problems in this version and added an item which was planned to be released in the first version : the dig-cannon. Use this item to dig the walls :) This item is hidden... somewhere.

    I also rewrote some parts for better ambient.

    Also added some places to discover ingame (using the cannon).

    Added an alternative ending.

    View deepnight's journal. | View all entries by deepnight

    Ratings

    Community4.15
    Overall4.29
    Graphics4.89
    #10Fun3.88
    #18Theme3.76
    #42Innovation3.57
    #88Humor2.85
    #204Coolness1%
    #238Audio1.48

    Comments

    badlogic says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:03am

    Beautiful

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:17am

    I really dig the artwork. =] While this, I thought of portal. Was it an influence? My only problem was the way the camera jumped around.

    vede says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:18am

    :'(

    I cried. You pulled off the end of this so well...

    pgil says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:20am

    Love this. It's not what I expected. Though I would have preferred scrolling to the jumpy camera.

    Septi says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:26am

    Magnificent! I take it from your journal the world is partially randomly generated?

    Also, good story :)

    deepnight says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:28am

    Yes sorry for the poor camera system : I hate it too. I had to do this choice because of my render technique : the game world is a 400x100 single bitmap. This bitmap is then scaled 4x (using a scaling algorithm like SuperSAI in emulators), which I implemented in a simple but dirty way...

    Therefore, no scrolling permitted :(

    Neilo says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:33am

    Love it, very dark!

    raver1975 says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:45am

    This is very beautiful and very cool. Where do I score some appy?

    Meep says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:45am

    Like others mentioned, the camera was probably the only issue. Aside from that, I really enjoyed this. I honestly didn't expect it to be the way it was. =P

    Superdeath says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:01am

    Wow, this is beautiful.

    deepnight says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:03am

    @Septi > the world was generated at first, but with the idea of a more story based game came the necessity for a carefully crafted level design. So I finally imported a bitmap map which I created with Photoshop...

    Almost says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:04am

    I love the ambiance and visual style. Scrolling is strange but not a problem.

    Moops says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:08am

    incredible, really top notch

    huhwhozat says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:18am

    Wow. Pretty and sad. I got stuck because a platform got blown up but I'll definitely give it another go after sleep.

    huhwhozat says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:18am

    The Myst Exile soundtrack is a good complement as you suggested :)

    huhwhozat says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:26am

    Okay I finished it. The Myst soundtrack added so much and ended up strangely in sync with the action :D Beautiful work.

    twistedjoe says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:54am

    I said in joke, "woah this game is about taking drugs to forgot your problems", then I remember the title...

    Awesome game

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 7:06am

    THIS. WAS. AMAZING.

    I'd love to see a video explaining your rendering style. Or something. Maybe it's in your blog. I'll go read that right away, but WOW. I loved this.

    It had FEELING. And man, it's so gorgeous.

    I LOVE IT!

    Manuel777 says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:16am

    Excellent, excellent work! followed you on the blog, and i must say im not dissapointed after a litle play.
    Dont feel bad if i ever try to recreate this render style (*whistles*)

    Zillix says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:25am

    Loved it. Fantastic aesthetic

    chinchang says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:47am

    Awesome work. I couldn't stop watching the graphics. Well done.

    deepnight says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:32am

    @Manuel777 : feel free to re-use :) This would be great!

    I may post another message to talk about techniques on this engine.
    About me, sorry, I don't have a blog (yet!)... ^^

    Danik says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:56am

    Beautiful! The camera did not bother me much. I wish there was music.
    Would love it if you wrote more about your technique!

    Stalker_23b says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:07am

    Great game!

    trialbyfun says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:22am

    Wow, just wow.

    deepnight says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 12:33pm

    Posted the timelapse & the enhanced version :)

    Cirrial says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:12pm

    Stunning visuals. Gameplay is pretty good. I like the randomly generated world. Character design is nice. I liked the story too. All around a good job.

    randomnine says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:21pm

    Nice concept and beautiful graphics, but I just couldn't get along with the platforming - kept missing jumps without the jetpack when it looked like they were possible, and the jetpack itself failed to fire sometimes. Hope you do a version with sound, I'm sure it'll add a ton :)

    chamberlainpi says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:32pm

    Very very very beautiful. Love the pixel style, frame-rate is smooth as silk, and effects / blurs really compliment the entire game.

    Excellent!

    chamberlainpi says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 1:58pm

    Wish I could of have my headphones with me to test the Audio, but I was blown away by just the visuals alone :)

    Jhelle says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 2:30pm

    At first I was like: Awesome graphics, but what else there.

    But later I was just blown away, by everything ( although I really wanted to hear something too).

    Very awesome. Good job

    lingmops says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:02pm

    That's magnificent! Visual style, and the dark humour of figuring out what's going on, bravo!

    madbranch says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:46pm

    Very nice game

    TomK32 says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:36pm

    10/5 for the graphics. it looks soo fantastic, mind if I "get inspired" by yours for my next game?

    treeman says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:27pm

    Breathtakingly beautiful, my god.

    mintman says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:35pm

    Stellar, if totally depressing game. If you can find a solution for the jumpy camera, the platforming would benefit from it. Maybe just make sure leaps can be started and completed on one screen? Awesome awesome awesome anyway.

    deepnight says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 5:52pm

    @TomK32> feel free to get inspired :)

    Spooner says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 6:50pm

    Very, very nice! Wish I'd entered myself now, so I could rate it as high as LD would let me (except sound, of course :P).

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 7:11pm

    The camera jumping caused me to die frequently.

    Kynrael says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:22pm

    Awesome apart from the camera jumping around.

    Also... it seems like you crammed the perception/reality theme into this one. ^^

    code_glitch says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:28pm

    One hell of a game :)

    Kvisle says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:51pm

    Appy 1000mg-haiku:

    Excellent artwork.
    Robot is sad and alone.
    Excellent ending.

    Milo says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:37pm

    Very artistic. The explosions were good too. I really appreciated this game.

    Cirrial says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:46pm

    Oh, and just one more thing. Like a lot of other people, not much of a fan of the camera. Maybe if you had more time you could think of a solution to the scrolling problem?

    Winterblood says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:03pm

    This is a work of art. I didn't mind the flick-screen scrolling, except for the player and sometimes particle effects lagging the cut by a frame. And movement was a bit slow, but it contributed to the dreamlike effect. The aesthetic is the obvious highlight but I think the interpretation of the theme is the cleverest element. Absolutely top notch!

    mr_Hk_ says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 11:33pm

    GG mate !

    you're a pixel rock star.

    Getsuga says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 12:32am

    Waow, bluffing... what can we say more ?

    perhaps...- " Nice view, isn't it ? " :P

    I was telling myself that deepnight couldn't have made an enhanced version without having added... a "special trick" signed deepnight. ;)

    May 3, 2011 @ 1:42am

    This is beautiful mate

    k_wright says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 4:24am

    Really well done, funny, awesome art style, great mechanics. I'd say we have the winner here.

    Rikkard says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 6:03am

    Awesome stuff. Really enjoyed the art!

    whitelynx says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 7:50am

    freaking. AWESOME.

    This is undoubtedly the best LD entry I've played so far. Congratulations on an absolutely stunning game! I can't wait to see what more you do to it post-compo!

    May 3, 2011 @ 12:02pm

    Really amazing stuff. And I've not yet played the enhanced version :D

    Blodyavenger says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 1:47pm

    I smell victory for this entry :D

    someone says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:30pm

    Wow, Really well done

    arielsan says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:33pm

    I really love it, found the enhanced device :D, but couldn't find the alternative ending :(

    What happened with sounds and music?

    Really really great work!! everyone should be appy after playing it.

    jsmars says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 3:27pm

    very impressive and well made, art and story really stand out. I really miss some fitting audio though, a smooth soundtrack that was switched with the worlds would really help the mood.

    mpc174 says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 5:10pm

    An impressive work of art!

    Valandre says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 5:15pm

    /fan !!!

    id0001 says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 5:54pm

    I love the graphics. Only the camera was a bit annoying.

    Joszs says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 7:01pm

    Awesome game, I found the wizard again, "it's a nice view isn't it?" I'm now stuck in a platform..

    TellusE says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 9:09pm

    The controls seemed a little jumpy. Most likely a result of the rendering technique you mentioned.

    The story was magnificent in its almost mute presentation.

    Oh yeah - "Me like bloobies". New internet même? :P

    May 3, 2011 @ 11:10pm

    Gorgeous. Excellent work.

    Cosr says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 8:06am

    I love me my medication.

    HighQuality says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 9:58am

    Wow, this was great :)
    I love the graphics and how original it is.

    jrrt says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 10:12am

    Very nice looking game! Will play it to the end some time soon :)

    bmfs says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 10:58am

    Great Game, and great ending

    recursor says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 1:01pm

    It blows my mind how there are some people in this competition that can create something in 48 hours with this level of polish in both the graphics and game play. Even without audio this is great!

    May 5, 2011 @ 2:49am

    :((((

    eli says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 5:57am

    Graphics are incredibly wonderful. Every tiny detail adds a richness that seems impossible in a 48-hour game. Really good going, it almost makes up for lack of music.

    I didn't try your enhanced version, but the pre-jetpack platforming was abysmal. Also, scene transitions seemed wrong (leading to disorientation), it probably should scroll or something.

    Good interpretation of theme!

    Razen says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 10:01am

    WOW. That is all I have to say. Amazing job.

    stephenreese says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 2:32pm

    Your game is wonderful. Might I interest you in some music for it? I also love the EXILE soundtrack, but maybe something more electronic and bit-crushed would fit the aesthetic? I have a track that plays with the same notion of duality you're working so well in Appy...I'd love to do a new mix, alternating 'light/dark world' loops to match your gameplay, and stripped down enough to make room for sound effects - which I'd love to give you, too! May I send you a PM on here, if you're interested and that's possible?

    deepnight says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 4:12pm

    @stephenreese: Nice ! It would be an honor for me if you could do a mix for my game :) Feel free to contact me at ludum[at]deepnight.net !

    May 5, 2011 @ 7:00pm

    Legendary!

    stephenreese says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 10:59pm

    You've made my day. Will send you a note shortly... :)

    haqu says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 5:00am

    this game is 48h masterpiece. played it with suggested soundtrack. awesome.

    btw, your previous entry - Time Pygmy is awesome too.

    keep up the great work!

    Hempuli says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 11:32am

    The graphics are great! However I was slightly annoyed by the engine; the jumps felt a bit too quick and the walls were a bit arbitrarily defined, which combined with the jumps and the jumpy scrolling made reaching some platforms a bit flimsy. Also even though it's a grand achievement to get any story at all to an LD game, I felt that the story was rather cliché and expectable, thus making it less dramatic and interesting. The twist at the end is a nice touch but hardly anything new. Overall I'd say that the graphical style is the strongest point of the game. This is not to say that the overall game isn't good, of course; I'm sure even the number of ratings this has tells enough.

    stigrv says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 7:07pm

    Truly a masterpiece. Amazing.

    May 6, 2011 @ 8:47pm

    Love the graphics.

    ryantouk says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 2:14am

    Awesome job. Amazing style as everyone has said. The abrupt camera took me out of the moment sometimes though... and the whole thing was a little slow in Firefox, especially during the Appy transitions. Fantastic overall! (Definitely reminds me of the game Eversion - have you played it?)

    Endurion says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 8:02am

    Really really great artwork! I love the atmosphere, esp. the dark side.
    The only annoying thing is the camera as you said already. And music/sound would've topped it off.
    Rock solid entry!

    elbowroom says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 12:22am

    This has already gotten so much respone and it's easy to see why this game is popular, it is very attractive..

    *spoiler*
    .
    .
    .


    What were those zombie suicide bomber things?
    it all seems very well thought out and very clevery thematic

    stqn says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 1:44am

    Apart from the jumping (a bit awkward) and of course the "scrolling", it's wonderful. Well done. Love the gfx, transition effects, dialogues :) and the weather effect of the dark world. And the end.

    Hectigo says ...
    May 9, 2011 @ 6:28pm

    This game is six kinds of awesome. Pretty but deceptively simple at first, the game took me by surprise by transforming to a such a compelling experience. Sounds would be a good addition, of course, but it's extraordinary how well the world sucks one in even without them.

    May 15, 2011 @ 8:42pm

    Well, this is beautiful.

    But what is "appy"? Is it the main character? Is it his way of saying "happy"? Is ot short for "apply"? Or does the game show up way more at the top of the website if it begins with an A? I guess we'll never know the true meaning of this mystery...

    I think what sells it though is the movement of the character. I have no idea wheter this was made on purpose or is just a generous side-effect, but it seems as though the character moves within the pixels of the grid-world, he doens't just slide along the scenery. Subtle, but very important.

    Now that the praise is out of the way, time for some contructive criticism :-) :

    - The level-screen-jump-thingie is disorientating the first time, but works otherwise. Especially at the end, when it conveys a sense of motion.

    - The "old man" is tricky. It is after all the main cliché given with the theme itsself, but he is placed at the best point possible, so it doesn't appear immediatly as a ripoff or an uninspired design-choice, but more of a hommage.

    - The level-design is a lot of trial'n'error. As in, you have to die before you figure out the basic rules of the world.

    - At first the theme seems completely ignored. It becomes apparent at 3/4 of the game, but doesn't seem tacked on or forced into a character, but rather woven into the game-structure ittself, out of which it evolves.

    - The fall at the end and the jetpack don't mix well. It would be a poor design-choice to take the jetpack away from the player, risking the flow of the player. Does the player use the jetpack however, it somehow destroys the scene. noooooooooo WHEE! nooooooooooo

    - I have the feeling that once enemies start blowing up scenery it might be possible to get stuck in a dead end. Or there are too few of them to have any impact.

    - This is strong Stuff. Drugs, death, lovely blobs that turn into suicide-bombery, creepy ... things, I used to get nightmares from things like these.

    Also, I'm not sure if any sounds would have made it better (blowing of the wind? A subtler, slower, benny-hill-esque fun-romp? nah...). It sits at the same point silhouettes and books (and other stuff) are, where the player substitutes the empty space with whatever is perfect in the players mind. Matching that is impossible, and given the timespan of the contest adding sounds would run the risk of destryong more of the gameworld than improving it.

    Or you ran out of time and couldn't be arsed. I guess we'll never know... :-)

    May 15, 2011 @ 8:58pm

    Also: pressing space to sontinue the chat-windows was kinda unnecessary... "any key" would not only have sufficed, but streamlined the controls more.

    Jacob says ...
    May 18, 2011 @ 3:46am

    Beautiful, especially the trees.
    Easy to get stuck/confused due to destructible world.

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 21, 2011 @ 12:26pm

    Very nice :)
    I like the graphic style, very neat. The game itself however is a rather off-the-mill platformer game.

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 21, 2011 @ 5:41pm

    This has some of the best graphics I've ever seen in an LD. Nicely done! I am going to look at the source to see how you did this with good performance. Could have been improved with smoother scrolling though. It's possible to get stuck permanently because of the explosions when in withdrawal, for example at the bottom of that deep pit towards the middle of the level. Otherwise, was a pretty easy but enjoyable game. There are some jumps that are barely makeable, but that lead to dead ends, and probably some opportunities for using explosions to get to new spots, too. Would have been nice if those had some kind of rewards. :)

    DrPetter says ...
    May 21, 2011 @ 9:40pm

    Weird. Pretty cool, but hard to really follow along with what is going on. Kind of as if the game itself doesn't actually care if it makes sense or not, just... adding some twists here and there, and an analogy layer in the end. Makes it genuine, I guess. True surrealism. A bit like some of my games, although seemingly with a design plan somewhere inside it all. I like the tree gfx most. Jumping/flying around wasn't always smooth and comfortable, but ok.

    zachstronaut says ...
    May 24, 2011 @ 9:28pm

    Well now I rather enjoyed that! Weird plot, funky graphics, jet packs, bones and gore, terrain destruction... sorry I didn't get to give you a rating, but CONGRATS!

    norgas says ...
    Jun 1, 2011 @ 2:37am

    Nice game! I love the normal and alternal ending :)

    AyCe says ...
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    FINALLY AFTER LIKE A MILLION TRIES i found the alternate ending ^^

    ding0610 says ...
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

    I'm a 16-year-old boy from Chinese.Coinsidently,i met a deepnight's game called "memonto",and i'm deeply attacted.
    I love the flash games you've made.Come on,yeah?:)
    æè°¢éå°ä½ ä»¬ï¼è¿æè¿äºæ¸¸æï¼

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]