Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 17 hours, 21 minutes, 33 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Myrktorch - gugugu - Competition Entry

    Myrktorch!

    Slay the undead with holy light!

    Beware of Ghosts!


    Post-Compo-Jam Update:
    -Added a way to acquire life.
    -Improved graphics, added lots of sounds and various tweaks.


    /If you plan on judging the game, remember to play the compo entry!

    View gugugu's journal. | View all entries by gugugu

    Ratings

    #15Graphics4.14
    #37Overall3.52
    #45Fun3.48
    #53Innovation3.48
    #65Theme3.29
    #103Coolness6%
    #118Audio2.60
    #248Humor1.80
    #256Community1.77

    Comments

    devinmoore says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 2:20pm

    The light mechanic makes the game.

    jsmars says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 3:46pm

    Really neat game! fun platforming and it looks great! it got frustrating after a while having to restart from the beginning each time after some cheap deaths though.

    gugugu says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:31pm

    thank you! did you get to the end? i'm considering shortening it and make room for a boss battle. i want to make it rather hard, since there's only one level, but not so hard it's unplayable.

    Gobo says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 8:20pm

    Having to restart right at the beginning after dying was quite annoying. Other than that, I liked it. The particle effects and animations gave the game a nice atmosphere.

    oldsatchmo says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 9:28pm

    Man, this is awesome! The visuals are lovely (the main character sprite is the best I've seen yet). The light mechanic is unique and leaves plenty of room for elaboration.

    Please keep working on it for the Jam, because I want to play more.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 12:31am

    Download seems to be broken at the moment...

    gugugu says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 2:55am

    Should be working :o You're in luck, you can play the jam version!

    May 4, 2011 @ 7:34pm

    Nice. I love the 'burn them with light' player ability.

    Very pretty, excellent mood.

    Well done!

    eli says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 6:10am

    Lovely graphics and animations. Clean and simple yet fairly polished.

    One-hit-deaths with no checkpoints? I guess it complements the five-second-long death sound (boooooooooooooooo.......ooom).

    Endurion says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 5:41pm

    Very nice game! Feels very polished and plays good. Only downsides: The jump is a bit laggy and having to restart at the very beginning.

    gugugu says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 12:47am

    Thanks everyone! Still no checkpoints, but i added something that should complement

    nilstastic says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 3:58pm

    Very nice game with excellent graphics and a consistent colorscheme. Very nice torch effect aswell. =)
    The only problems i have with this game is the restart-button when you die, and slightly unresponsive controls.
    4 overall. =)

    alexlarioza says ...
    May 8, 2011 @ 9:07pm

    Very neat platformer! I loved the graphical style. =] Bit frustrating though.

    May 9, 2011 @ 8:28am

    this is quite beautiful, although difficult.

    leandro says ...
    May 11, 2011 @ 6:21pm

    awsome. I played all the versions. but in weird order haha. first the jam, then the final, and finally the compo.

    First i thought it was kinda TOO hard and frustrating. but then i realized that i couldn't stop playing!
    After you get some practice, it's not that hard at all. I liked the light system, and the boss was great! great palette and graphics.

    I won a couple times in each version, and the only bad thing is that i wish there were more levels.

    DrPetter says ...
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:22am

    Pretty, with a nice knytt-like mood. I had trouble accepting the inevitability of being hit by the death poop of flying water demons. Would have been nice if I could maneuver around for a few seconds before losing them permanently, assuming I find a safe place to do so. Also, there's quite a large delay on the inputs. Triple buffering? Worse? It's not bad enough to ruin the gameplay, but it does get distracting when timing jumps. The thing that prevents me from finishing the game right now though is the complete reset on death. Still, cool and fun game. I'll try the jam version.

    gugugu says ...
    May 15, 2011 @ 9:24am

    Buffering? I know how to turn my computer on and draw squiggly lines in PS but that's about it. I made the game in Construct; not sure what buffering method it uses(?).
    People have been talking about a delay for the inputs but everything is very responsive to me (tried it on 3 different computers)... Not quite sure how to fix that.

    Oh and thanks for sfxr DrPetter, 'tis GOLD!

    ACodeGerm says ...
    May 16, 2011 @ 2:17am

    Great job. Love the aesthetic and colour palette. Even though I died a few times getting into it, it wasn't frustrating, even without checkpoints. Good stuff!

    Mandraw says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

    Not available anymore...can you make it available ?
    It looks cool , and id want to try cool things ^^

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]