Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 21 hours, 36 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Phantom Keeper - 31eee384 - Competition Entry

    (Strange name, yes.)

    This is a game in which you must form a party of soul creature things to help you fight other soul creature things. What plot there is you can find within the game.


    To control yourself:
    Arrow keys for movement
    Z for going "back" in menus, for opening the menu when not in battle, and accelerating the dialogue (when held)
    X for swinging the net, for confirming menu options, and progressing dialogue

    To read signs/notes and to pick up items just walk over them. To encounter an enemy, stand still in a cloud and press x to swing the net.

    A few gameplay notes: using a shard regenerates a soul, and defeating an enemy with a rune will capture it.


    There is no sound nor music, feel free to vote 1 in that category, or N/A if you're too nice for that.

    As you very quickly learn in the game, it is not nearly finished. The stats are unbalanced, the world consists of a single cave, and the number of creatures is six. I wanted to continue into the Jam to pump a little more content into it, but I had school.

    I probably won't be working on the game soon, though, because I've got something a lot more exciting (to me, at least) in the works.

    View 31eee384's journal. | View all entries by 31eee384

    Ratings

    #90Theme3.04
    #105Community2.94
    #171Graphics2.78
    #177Coolness2%
    #179Fun2.52
    #194Overall2.56
    #215Innovation2.41
    #230Humor1.90
    #270Audio1.31

    Comments

    mintman says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 7:57am

    Sucks about the bugs. I like the way you took the theme, and it would have been neat to see a complete and polished execution of the idea - though any strongly content-based games are hard to make in 48 hours. I call it content-based because, in my opinion, it needs many levels and monsters to feel complete.
    That being said, the scrolling text works well, and the graphics are functional. The health bars on the fight screen are a little ambiguous, and a more polished game would have that a bit cleaned up.

    Orangy Tang says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:13am

    An intruiging plot setup, and quite nice minimal graphics. I was genuinely disappointed when it ended so soon - looks like you had a lot of the gameplay code done, it just needed a whole bunch of content.

    Cybs says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 10:33am

    I really liked the engine. It felt good.
    I couldn't swing my net though.. and no enemies to swing it at I think.

    31eee384 says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 12:30pm

    mintman: Definitely a content-based game--I even call it that myself when I talk about it. And I would need also to make the fights a little clearer--there's a bunch of stats behind what's going on (most of which not used) that should be displayed to the player.

    Orangy Tang: Thanks. And sorry, I suppose. :)

    Cybs: To swing the net, you have to stand still and press x. To encounter an enemy, you have to stand in one of the clouds and do so. (I think this is explained in the note, but I'll update the description to make it more clear.)

    Jhelle says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 2:01pm

    What was there was good and addictive like the games its based on. I wanted more though :(

    mpc174 says ...
    May 3, 2011 @ 6:18am

    A rather nice game. Were you inspired by Soul Reaver in addition to the obvious influence? A dark take on a Mons game, plenty of intrigue, with enough story for the theme to be dropped twice! Good job.

    31eee384 says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 12:01am

    mpc174: Hmm, had to google Soul Reaver to find out what it was. Obviously, wasn't inspired by it. :)

    May 4, 2011 @ 2:28am

    Poke-soul.

    Congrats on finishing the LD48!

    Cosr says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 2:30am

    Showing some actual numbers for the monsters (health and whatever) would have been really nice.

    I'm not sure using an item to directly capture a monster really goes with the idea of capturing their soul. Maybe it would be interesting if you used the rune to bind their soul, and then still had to defeat them normally after. Or something.

    31eee384 says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 1:30pm

    Yeah, I wanted to show at least the HP, but I didn't have time.

    The idea with the runes is that you throw the rune at the monster, and if it's the rune that kills it, their soul is now in the rune. The only problems are that I didn't have time to put in attack animations, and the runes do too much damage.

    But it's not like capturing souls really makes sense anyways. :P

    ThatSnail says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 12:58am

    Heh, love the intro dialogue. Rather fun, although disappointed at the short length. Looked like you had the whole setup done too.

    LegacyCrono says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 9:00am

    Whoa, Pokemon meets Shin Megami Tensei. Loved it, too bad it's so short. I'd like to play more. Good work!

    joekinley says ...
    May 6, 2011 @ 9:19pm

    Aw no timelapse? Nice game though. Good point on theme, it was fun as long as it lasted. Could have been nice to skip the conversational stuff, because once hitting the note again resulted in frustration on my site.

    You totally get extra community points as your first post way before the compo suggested the end theme.

    elbowroom says ...
    May 10, 2011 @ 11:42am

    Looks like an interesting start..

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]