Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 11 hours, 35 minutes, 54 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 11 hours, 35 minutes, 54 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 20

    April 29th-May 2nd, 2011
    Theme: It’s Dangerous to go Alone! Take this!

    More Info: Ludum Dare 20 Has Begun! (Keynote), Theme Voting Results.

    Back to Browse Entries

    Take this! (and everything else) - Petzi - Competition Entry

    I'm a first time Ludum Darer. In fact, this is the first game I'm publishing! I use Game Maker, so there's only the Windows version. The game has no sound or music due to lack to time. The graphics are simple but all the informative effects are there, so you won't be confused.

    The gameplay is simple, but challenging. It's a reflex type of game that uses the keyboard and the mouse. It's about the old man in the cave that gives people things. I didn't have time to include levels or anything, but I'm happy with how it turned out, and making is was lots of fun.

    If Yoyogames stops hating me any time soon, I'm going to put up an Instant Play version at their website. Anyway, I hope you enjoy it. After you've played it, please take a moment to tell me what you thought!

    View Petzi's journal. | View all entries by Petzi

    Ratings

    #7Theme4.00
    #57Humor3.00
    #74Fun3.29
    #76Overall3.29
    #83Innovation3.29
    #142Graphics2.93
    #154Community2.57
    #156Coolness3%
    #210Audio1.71

    Comments

    ladron says ...
    May 2, 2011 @ 4:27pm

    Nice, simple idea. I was doing fine until the soldiers started coming - then I lost it pretty quickly.

    eli says ...
    May 4, 2011 @ 6:03pm

    Excellent work!!!
    Love it, was easy to understand and exciting.
    Very impressive as a first try. I eagerly await your many future games.

    Could maybe use a faster pace to begin with, and a slower increase of pace as new items are added.

    ps. it's time to serve the guests, biggt
    pps. my game idea was along the same lines, but I think you said it more elegantly.

    May 4, 2011 @ 6:40pm

    I like the idea. It's definitely one of the better games when it comes to theme: You obviously took the theme, and made a game about the theme, instead of making a game and then randomly throwing in the theme, so in the theme category, you pass with flying colors.

    Sound-wise, I realize (having tried myself) that making sounds in the time constraints is hard. I also think that no sound is better than bad sound, so you don't score too low there either, although not too high.

    That graphics nicely conveyed the feeling of the old Zelda games, but it was let down by the standard game maker text box and highscore table :(
    Still, that only came in at the end, and I had plenty of time to enjoy the retro before that, so kudos for that!

    It was fun the first few times, but it grew old a bit too quickly for my liking. Again, it's hard to avoid that within the time constraints, but it is possible. But, as I said, fun the first few times, so you score there.

    The humor benefited from the idea you had: I loved the idea so much: The moment I realized what was supposed to be doing, I laughed. Out loud. That's quite an achievement with me :P

    Overall, it's amazing for a first try. The lack of polish is quite obvious, but the concept really made this game stand out for me.

    *Tips hat*

    Endurion says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 1:36pm

    Grand :)
    You made the game with an idea I was pondering. And you made it quite good. I had no problem until item #6 appeared. Then it's just too much. I made 112 points!

    Adramalech says ...
    May 5, 2011 @ 10:43pm

    Good game, starts out easy, gradually becomes a lot harder.

    May 6, 2011 @ 5:16am

    102!

    Yeah, this was perfectly designed, from a player feedback standpoint. Sound would only make it better.

    Great work!

    Petzi says ...
    May 7, 2011 @ 1:54pm

    Thanks a lot for your feedback and encouragement, everyone! The pacing is a bit hard to balance without having levels or a difficulty setting. I guess I should have slowed down its pace, but I thought players might get bored waiting for the next item to come along (in my opinion, the game is very very easy up until the monkey). Like I expected, I got mixed reactions from players in terms of difficulty. I kept in mind that most people would only play it once, so I tried not to make it too hard, but I'm aware that it gets boring and too easy after you've played it a couple of times. If anyone is curious, I got to around 800 points with 2 lives and then quit out of boredom. Still, I'm happy with the balance.

    I'm really sorry about the default Game Maker stuff! I know how terrible they are, I hate to see them in games. Those things were added at the very end when I realized I needed some sort of "Play again?" thing, and a way to save highscores. I was really tired and forgot how bad those things are. Again, sorry. Btw, thanks for your detailed review, you really took the time to look into it!

    I'm glad somebody else gets the joke, biggt. Thanks again, everyone!

    ryantouk says ...
    May 10, 2011 @ 3:23am

    Nice debut - it becomes a sort of reflex/memory game pretty quickly.

    Some simple sound effects would be nice. Can't be too difficult to add, can it? I've never used GameMaker, it is on my long list of software to mess around with some day...

    quickfingers says ...
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:43pm

    simple idea, solid execution, at about 100 points in it goes mental and it's very tough! think you need a quicker start and a more subtle difficulty curve :)

    mwest says ...
    May 14, 2011 @ 9:18pm

    Very nice 1st entry - well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]