Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 15 hours, 8 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 19

    December 17th-20th, 2010
    Theme: Discovery

    More Info: /ludum-dare-19-has-begun/

    Back to Browse Entries

    suspension of disbelief - plams - Competition Entry

    press [esc] to get instructions

    known bugs:
    - physics does not respond well to lag
    - music sync might drift
    - blue screen of love2d death?

    linux users; go to http://love2d.org/ - compile sources, run with $ love suspension-of-disbelief.love

    View plams's journal. | View all entries by plams

    Ratings

    #9Innovation3.90
    #16Audio3.79
    #17Graphics3.85
    #27Coolness18%
    #48Overall3.40
    #52Humor2.89
    #70Fun3.05
    #77Community3.19
    #96Theme3.20

    Comments

    FireSlash says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 4:26am

    Very nice idea. Controls are a bit awkward and the transition between "worlds" is often annoying, finding myself bouncing back between them when I didn't want to. Cool idea and fun game though!

    plams says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 5:03pm

    Time-lapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkvtMDfrlUc

    Sos says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 7:45pm

    Pretty hard, but made my day ;) Also, I somehow managed to get over the bounds (I was on the outer side of the level).

    plams says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:23pm

    Happened to me, too! My game has heaps of bugs :-(

    plams says ...
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 9:58pm

    According to PoV, stability fixes are okay after deadline, so I've applied the following very simple patches (if it offends anyone, I'll revert to the old version)


    # vv prevents you from starting out of bounds in "decompression room", bug that Sos encountered
    --- rooms.lua.old
    +++ rooms.lua
    @@ -222,8 +222,8 @@
    end
    end,
    guy_start = {
    - init = {x = 993, y = 512-472},
    - plot_room_one = {x = 993, y = 512-472},
    + init = {x = 933, y = 512-472},
    + plot_room_one = {x = 933, y = 512-472},
    plot_room_two = {x = 40, y = 512-252},
    }
    },

    # vv prevents timestep from getting too large, common way of starting the game "dead"
    --- main.lua.old
    +++ main.lua
    @@ -258,6 +258,9 @@
    end

    function love.update(dt)
    + if dt > 0.1 then
    + dt = 0.1
    + end
    if g.info_screen then
    love.audio.setVolume(0)
    return

    Entar says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 2:19am

    What FireSlash said.
    Also, I got stuck on the second screen :(
    Otherwise, cool game!

    mitch says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:30am

    It was a great idea, but got annoyed when trying to move objects around (Pushing objects around with the tip of a triangle was a bit annoying :/).

    Great concept though :)

    plams says ...
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 9:28am

    mitch - you can move backwards and push with the back of your "ship" :-)

    randomnine says ...
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 1:13pm

    Pretty clever. Definitely one of my favourites so far.

    Squax says ...
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 6:41pm

    Wow, great mechanic. I died on the second screen a lot though.

    Myx says ...
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 2:00pm

    Quite interesting game! The graphical contrast between the two worlds is excellent. I honestly didn't get very far though, since controlling the "real world" ship is very difficult.

    thristhart says ...
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 5:39pm

    The non-sketch-type-world-thing was a really frustrating place to be. I preferred the pretty drawings :D

    Endurion says ...
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 6:31am

    The idea is great.
    The controls kill half the fun. I'd rather concentrate on the puzzles but end up exploding too often. If you make the collision response a bit more player friendly this game would shine.

    Hazel says ...
    Jan 4, 2011 @ 2:26pm

    Really cool, although the controls were a little frustrating.

    I seemed to be having some sound problems, with the audio either not playing at all or playing and then stopping, but the music was nice when it was working.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Jan 6, 2011 @ 5:51am

    Cool idea. The music is super, some of the best in this compo. Unfortunately it drops out for me on the Windows version (much more stable on the Mac), which is a shame because it really adds to the mood in both the hostile world and the sketchy world. I found the gameplay frustratingly difficult, and I think I have a high tolerance. The controls I could handle (though it would have been more fun if they were less cruel, particularly the ease of crashing your ship, and the slowness of pushing things around). But what drove me crazy was that the objects I pushed into place to pass the second room would just disappear while I was using them. But I did finish it, and enjoyed it. Nice.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]