Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 36 minutes, 6 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 18

    August 20th-23rd, 2010
    Theme: Enemies as Weapons

    Back to Browse Entries

    illumynate - Zillix - Competition Entry

    aim the flashlight with the mouse
    WASD to move
    SPACE toggles flashlight
    R forces a respawn
    X to start game, and to close messages

    Press C to skip the intro story

    Notes:
    Keep in mind that the flashlight effects last a while after you turn it off- sometimes, it more effective to flick it on/off than to keep it on.

    Also, there's only 1 ending to the game. Don't get confused!


    This was my first LD, and I had a lot of fun! I used it to learn how to use flixel and flashDevelop.


    I liked the idea of making a game where the player couldn't directly kill anything. Explore, play the game, and have fun!



    I'm happy with how much I got done in 48 hours. I got enough sleep each night, and I even spent much of the second day at the Renaissance festival!

    After having spent several hours optimizing my game for a better framerate, I was both elated and upset when I found out the the .swf runs much faster standalone than when tested from flashdevelop!

    View Zillix's journal. | View all entries by Zillix

    Ratings

    #11Innovation3.84
    #16Overall3.60
    #27Coolness21%
    #33Fun3.28
    #44Graphics3.44
    #51Humor2.60
    #61Theme3.52
    #79Community2.88
    #127Audio1.50

    Comments

    drZool says ...
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:39pm

    I like the ending :)

    vitae says ...
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 10:52pm

    The creatures that thirst for my blood made the game frustrating, often so many would gang me that I couldn't kill them all.

    jakkarth says ...
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:27am

    The notes were a great comedic touch and helped add depth to the game. Once I realized I could move with wasd in addition to arrow keys, it made it much easier to shine the flashlight around with the mouse. At the end (I assume), I got trapped in a room with some giant thing that ran into a corner and got stuck there. I couldn't kill it with light or escape from the room, not sure if that was a bug or lack of imagination on my part, or the intended result. Anyway, nice job!

    Meep says ...
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 4:12pm

    A very enjoyable game. =) The little story along with it added to the effect. Great work!

    Switchbreak says ...
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 5:35pm

    Loved the idea. The game is extremely frantic - the enemies seem to spawn faster than I can scare them away, and that damn battery flashlight is way too short. I love the story of it, feels Lovecraftian in a way. The ending is great.

    HybridMind says ...
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 9:16pm

    Pretty cool and fun idea. I like the story elements that are dropped in over time via the notes. I played for quite awhile but didn't reach the end because of a bug that happened with some floating gas bag enemies that made my character disappear and even the force R respawn wouldn't work and my flashlight was stuck on.

    I also found the enemies respawned way too quickly and the easy respawn of my player upon death made death meaningless and the swarms of enemies frustrating more than scary. If I would change anything it would be this risk/reward and enemy spawn rate... it really kills the mood when you send a scorpion enemy into a spike wall only to have them reappear within a second and kill you.

    Zillix says ...
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 10:10pm

    Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad that the story seems to be enjoyable.


    @HybridMind- Thanks a lot for the specificity of the crash bug report! It's fixed now. I hope you can play through to the end (it's a really short game), since in my opinion, the ending is the best part =P

    Danik says ...
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 11:07am

    Good game, great depth to the story for an ld game.

    bluescrn says ...
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 12:38pm

    Very nicely presented, nice ideas - I found it very hard to play, though - the flashlight lasts under a second on a full charge, and starts to fade out at 50%? (Was that as intended, or is there a framerate/timestep bug there?)

    Zillix says ...
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 2:37pm

    The flashlight wasn't intended to be used extensively. I didn't make that very clear, but the best way to use it is only for split seconds at a time. That being said, I will approximately double the flashlight life in the post-compo version, to make the experience less frustrating.

    Zillix says ...
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 2:39pm

    Scratch that- I just checked, and on my computer it lasts for approximately 2.5 second. There must be a timestep bug- I'll address this to make the game more playable. Thanks for the feedback!

    localcoder says ...
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 2:22am

    I got the creature at the end stuck in a corner (after I shined the light at it), and wasn't sure what was meant to happen. Right up until that glitch, though, I thought the ending was very good - I felt a lot of suspense in the final area.

    mwest says ...
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 2:40pm

    Probably the most atmospheric game I've played so far this compo! I agree that it was a bit too easy and the ending was a bit confusing... got the monster stuck in the corner and then wasn't sure what to do - did get the ending screen eventually after a few minutes .

    Overall a very nice effort - well done!

    JDruid says ...
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 5:22pm

    I blew up the creature, but didn't find any kind of an ending here. Spent a couple of minutes finding the rest of the batteries after that. Too bad really if I missed something.

    Zillix says ...
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 6:21pm

    That is quite unfortunately, because you definitely did miss something! I'm impressed with your accomplishment, though.

    Zillix says ...
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 7:15pm

    You failed to fail, so to speak.

    pekuja says ...
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 9:55pm

    I thought this was a pretty cool take on the theme. What I found weird was that I could actually see worse when I was using the flashlight, but then that might actually be somewhat realistic because of how human eyes work. I was also bummed out by the unbeatable "end boss" (unless I missed something), but the mood of the game was great and the "end boss" sequence was unsettling. I did manage to get it stuck in a corner though where it couldn't hurt me. Then I had to somehow get it unstuck to finish the game.

    Basic says ...
    Sep 1, 2010 @ 8:22am

    That was pretty fun, well done.

    Entar says ...
    Sep 1, 2010 @ 7:29pm

    Weird ending. Good use of the theme, simple but effective game mechanic. Would love to see this with some hi-res graphics and some creepy sound effects and music.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]