Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 79 days, 3 hours, 22 minutes, 57 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 18

    August 20th-23rd, 2010
    Theme: Enemies as Weapons

    Back to Browse Entries

    dudidadala - sirGustav - Competition Entry

    Pick up a star to be able to megaman-load and shoot. Jump on moving guys to pick them up and throw them, r to restart. Jump on walls to gain height.

    postcompo fixes:
    * Compiled in relase!
    * Download is in zip with accompanying html
    * Fixed jump on enemy bug, they now take to jumps to pickup
    * Your health is now displayed
    * Fixed graphics
    * One extra heart life
    * Made text context-sensitive
    * Longer/bigger level
    * Updated getting-hurt sound so that it hopefully stands out more
    * Fixed get-stuck-in-hole bug that andrew spotted(thanks!). It's now possible to walljump up
    * Story: You are a dude in a dark dark land, somewhere there is an exit, escape!

    View sirGustav's journal. | View all entries by sirGustav

    Ratings

    #41Graphics3.48
    #43Humor2.67
    #52Fun3.10
    #55Coolness13%
    #61Theme3.52
    #66Overall3.00
    #78Audio2.38
    #95Community2.56
    #146Innovation2.33

    Comments

    Redbone says ...
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 8:49pm

    lolwut floating teeth

    Andrew Marsh says ...
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 1:29am

    Interesting so far, I do believe at the start of the game if you fall down you can not get back up again. This was annoying and I had to keep reloading the page until I discovered you could press r to restart.

    Aug 23, 2010 @ 7:44am

    I fell into the same trap at the beginning too, but later realised you can wall-jump up walls. Just thought I'd point that out for future players!

    A fairly literal and obvious take on the theme, but it's clean and quite polished, is very playable. Maybe a little too easy to die, especially with those gun enemies which can hurt you way faster than you can throw something at them!

    The graphics are nice and clean, and I like the grins on the walls, although visually it would have been nice to have some more varied colours. Plenty of personality on the player character.

    Overall, it's not blow-you-out-of-the-water inventive, but it's polished and works, and it's fun to play, which is commendable in itself :)

    DrPetter says ...
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 7:28am

    A bit too difficult, but somewhat addicting due to quick restart. I kept trying over again to get past the first two turret enemies, and to figure out the charge shot before I died. Ended up too often getting hit by shots that started outside the screen. The various weird background tiles add a strange sense of theme/environment rather than having everything be generic walls and floors. That's good. Wall jump capability wasn't obvious without instructions.

    Andrew Marsh says ...
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 9:53am

    @alistair
    Unless I am mistaken I don't think you can wall jump out if you fall down at the beginning. On both sides of the pit there is an overhang which stops you if you are wall jumping

    Jerm says ...
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 5:34pm

    The game was too fast and the turrets are too overpowered and hard to kill. Nice graphical style though.

    sirGustav says ...
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 10:11am

    Here are a few tips if you think the game is too hard: :)
    * don't pickup the stars unless you have to, aside from giving you the ability to shoot, they also restore your health(should be clear enough in the post-compo version).
    * if you find yourself without a gnome to throw, you can usually go back and take a different route, pick one up and return.
    * magicians fire at your current position, if you jump when they shoot their first shot chances are you might be able to dodge them.

    I'll try to post a walk-through later when I get my hands on a decent capture tool.

    moop says ...
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 8:40am

    Cool graphical style and I like the floating skulls, teeth, evil eyes etc. It was pretty fun though I found it frustrating that there were areas you could get stuck in and never escape because of the overhangs, but you have no way of knowing which are escapable.

    HybridMind says ...
    Sep 3, 2010 @ 6:31pm

    Have no idea what a 'megaman-load move' is when you glow. Managed to fire a yellow star out once but had no clue how. I ran around a bit and jumped on some dudes and threw them but I couldn't ever get past the second shooter guy. If you fall in the pit it also seems like game over. I did enjoy the graphics and playing as that weird groenig looking head.

    pekuja says ...
    Sep 4, 2010 @ 11:55pm

    The gun turret things were kinda hard to avoid. Also I expected the star thing to make me invincible to them. Also seemed weird that the game didn't end if I fell into a pit.

    sirGustav says ...
    Sep 5, 2010 @ 5:29am

    this is weird... the submitted game appears to have some sort of bug making it harder than it's supposed to be, sorry :( Megaman load means you gotta charge up your shot by holding Z and releasing when it's charged. You do get a short time of invincible(1 second) when you pick up a star

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]