Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 76 days, 19 hours, 2 minutes, 45 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Nyan Nyan Stack - dock - Jam Entry

    I had some last minute build issues. This should work fine, but I haven't tested it.

    EDIT: Level select is fixed now, and Mac and Web builds added

    View dock's journal. | View all entries by dock

    Ratings

    Coolness53%
    #17Overall(Jam)3.33
    #19Graphics(Jam)3.86
    #20Fun(Jam)3.19
    #35Humor(Jam)2.65
    #37Innovation(Jam)2.90
    #53Audio(Jam)2.89
    #70Mood(Jam)2.31
    #129Community3.00
    #152Theme(Jam)1.68

    Comments

    increpare says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 4:01am

    oi! give me an osx or web build, be-atch!

    Sheep says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:43am

    Are you sure your game works? When I want to play the first level I go back to the level select menu.

    Rudy says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:10am

    Same issue here, Enter/X/C at level select sends back to level select. I'd say this is a critical error and can be fixed post-submission.

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 6:33pm

    Hurry up and fix it. I wanna play the kitty game already! ;)
    PS: don't forget the web build.
    kthxbai =^__^=

    dock says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:47pm

    This is fixed now! Sorry for the delay on uploading the new one.

    Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:24pm

    Awesome game! Love the walk-animation, and the mechanics work quite well. Also, it oozes cuteness.

    waynebeam says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:01pm

    really nice! the look was unique and cool, nice level design. the throw-down-to-double-jump i liked a lot, that was awesome.

    Snowflower says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 9:37pm

    very nice! love the colors!

    increpare says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:23pm

    I can't get past level 3 :S

    picking up pigs when standing on them seems a bit of a hit-or-miss affair

    dock says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:36pm

    You should be able to pick up stuff so long as your centre is over the object, but some people are reporting unresponsiveness with jump and/or drop buttons. Not certain what's happening there.

    Knighty says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 5:26am

    Fun but kind of difficult little game. I don't know if this was intended, but the moneybags you can pick them up and jump at the same time. It felt like I skipped some parts by doing this.

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:42am

    Omigosh so cute eeeeee :>
    The idea was pretty good- carrying stuff around and using it to propel yourself. The graphics were definitely my favourite- So adorable. The personalities of the characters were excellent- "Sorry nya!", etc. I felt sorry for the pigs when they died :c Good game!

    jeffz says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:59pm

    I wish you'd done something for the actual theme, cute game though.

    dock says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 1:37pm

    Jeffz - Believe it or not, this started out with alone in mind. The concept was about not leaving friends behind, and going back to retrieve friends by sacrificing money. That didn't pan out in the final levels, as fetching friends just felt like a chore, and it wasn't clear how to collect stuff at the end of level.

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 6:04pm

    Awesome! The graphics are terrific and the game is really fun!

    Ishisoft says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:23am

    Very cute, lovely colour palette and sprites. The piglets are especially adorable.

    Level three is a bit of a difficulty jump. The spikes are rather unforgiving, and the choosing of respawn points seems a bit random. It's also quite easy to drop items on the spikes which gets you a bit stuck. I spent ages trying to get through the level without stabbing myself, the piglets, or dropping the money into the spikes, but couldn't keep up the jumping precision. Sorry! I could see how to solve the level though.

    Would love to see it expanded to focus more on the puzzling though. Nyan!

    dock says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:39pm

    I uploaded a new version with a few fixes alongside the original :) You can now also press N+Y+A to skip the level.

    Rudy says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 6:45pm

    A very nicely done game! It's cutesy and earns some retro art points. Cute sounds effects. The drop/double-jump mechanic is very cool and lends itself to a variety of puzzles. I'd want the platforming to be slightly less sluggish though. And some jumps are very hard, especially where you have to hit jump for like a millisecond to make a low jump. At least money bags don't reset, though I'd like a few more checkpoints. My biggest gripe is that this doesn't fit the theme. It was "alone", not "kittens". And although a kitten may be alone, there is little "alone" atmosphere and cartoony look doesn't make this alone-moody, in fact the opposite - cheery and fun! Don't get me wrong though, I like the artworks :) 5 stars on community for kitty badge :)

    iforce2d says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 10:03am

    Very well done, nice idea too. I'm stuck right at the beginning of lvl3 though...

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 2:28pm

    I WANT THE MONIES BUT I HAVE TO USE THE MONIES TO PREVENT MY MURDER. THIS IS THE WAY OF LIFE. DEEP MEANING, DOCK! This is so cute and sweet... I think I got a brain cavity. It's like a sugar coma but with cute little swirly pink stuff falling out of my butt.

    Make A Game says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 5:31pm

    I eventually got stuck. It's a lot more polished than I expect out of a Jam game. Don't care much for the kittens theme though. :)

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 9:09pm

    Loved it!! The animations and CGA style are perfect. Plays really smoothly and the puzzle design was tight. I found it frustrating to have to REDO FROM START when I died or betrayed a piggy, especially since some of the low jumps are twitchy. I beat the 4th level by jumping over the top. Was that intended? Is the piggie on the right just a red herring then?

    dock says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 10:12am

    Tom 7 - the trick with jumping over the wall on level 4 was a mistake/bug. There's a real solution to all of the levels, but unfortunately the twitchy controls and deaths mean that most people didn't get to them :) Thanks for playing!

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Well, I ended up getting stuck on level 3 (the flag was so close I could taste it).

    I found the controls a little finicky. I seemed to have trouble dropping things when moving and jumping at the same time. And the timing for a low jump was way too short. Haven't tried the new web version to see if it's any fixed.

    It was fun and silly and cute though. Very well done.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]