Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 12 hours, 31 minutes, 46 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 12 hours, 31 minutes, 47 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dungeons of Solitude - Knighty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Your only friend has gotten lost in a dungeon. Traverse the deadly place while finding weapons and items to help you on your way.


    Controls

    Arrow keys - Move
    Z - Stab sword (Only after you find it)
    X - Use assigned item
    Enter - Open/Close Inventory
    Press Z or X while in the inventory to set an item
    F4 - Enter/Exit fullscreen mode
    Esc - Exit game

    View Knighty's journal. | View all entries by Knighty

    Ratings

    Coolness52%
    #54Graphics3.78
    #186Overall3.00
    #227Community2.79
    #284Mood2.50
    #327Fun2.39
    #384Theme2.56
    #397Audio2.00
    #545Humor1.33
    #580Innovation1.78

    Comments

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:58am

    When I run the game, I get seams in between the game tiles. Your screenshots don't show these seams.

    bach says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:41am

    Lovely game. Has a very distinct 16bit era feel. Would've loved to see some soundtrack in this would have definitely taken it up a notch!

    Overall though, very impressive for the amount of time available.

    Cheers
    Bach

    ASTERISCUS says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:11pm

    Maybe 20 games in and this is my favorite so far. As a proof of concept it's exceptional - art has a great SNES feel, animations look good, and the mechanics are tight enough to make it challenging for all the right reasons. Given a few more weeks of adding content you'd have something that could've sold a million cartridges back in 1992. Well done!

    Alex Gilday says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:06am

    Not particularly fun I must say. I like the graphics, and it fit the theme well, but the lack of music was a little annoying. Quite hard too, once I got to the 3rd level with the guys that throw stuff I just kept repeatedly dying. Also the pathfinding of the slimes seems like the hug to corners, and it's annoying trying to lure them anywhere

    Hazard says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:45am

    I like the graphics and it plays mostly fine. The collision detection could use some "fuzzyness" so you and the enemies don't get stuck on corners so easily. Archer arrows are too fast or the player too slow, not really possible to avoid damage. Not very innovative, but one of the best entries i've played so far.

    bostelk says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 11:12am

    :) gj

    Awennor says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:39pm

    Simple and done to death, but still awesome. Great job!

    Dec 23, 2011 @ 4:19am

    "Innovation" is not some critical aspect to a fun game, especially when you know the fundamentals this well. A tried-and-true concept done very solidly, and I'd love to see you flesh this out into full fledged game.

    dr_soda says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 5:03pm

    I love the art style, and the sfx are really evocative of the 16 bit era, but the controls are very frustrating. It's all down to the pixel-by-pixel movement speeds, and the fact that enemies will hang on corners in a way that they cannot be stabbed, but also cannot be walked past without hurting you. Even once you discover diagonal stabbing, you still move while getting into the diagonal position and thus still run the risk of being hurt.

    I would say that changing the movement scheme to be tile based, and being a little more generous on the collision detection for the sword would make this an excellent title and a fine first chapter to a bigger story.

    jfroco says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    Great game... I missed music and some puzzles, but for 48h competition is excellent the engine is very well done... it's very frustrating you don't keep the initial knives when you die and the slime enemies should avoid corners. Congratulations

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]