Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 0 hours, 23 minutes, 40 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Final Trip Soccer - Benjamin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Nathan is the best player of his hometown soccer club. Lead him to the top !

    Left,Right,Up,Down : move Around
    Hold <Space> : Focus
    Release <Space> : Shoot ball
    Tap <Space> : Control ball ( press one short time when the ball is near to your position )


    ---
    I spent a lot of time trying to translate the ending sequence and the tutorial in english... I guessa lot of sentences may be wrong, please let me know
    ---

    View Benjamin's journal. | View all entries by Benjamin

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #4Overall4.10
    #5Innovation4.29
    #12Fun3.65
    #14Graphics4.15
    #39Theme3.75
    #51Humor3.23
    #85Community3.28
    #116Audio3.02
    #189Mood2.85

    Comments

    mooosh says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:49am

    Holy whoa this is awesome. this is definitely the best Ludum Dare game I've played so far. I love you.

    rogberth says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:11am

    Made in only 48 hours? Lots of really nice graphics and awesome engine. Probably the best game of ld22

    spiral says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:11pm

    wow that's really impressive! A++!

    increpare says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 2:29pm

    This was a pretty good break from other styles of games. : )

    I found it a bit ... slow I think? Died a couple of screens in half-way through killing people and didn't want to replay it. Most of the game was spent slowly circling enemies trying to pick them off.

    I didn't know what tapping to control the ball meant.

    bompo says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 8:34pm

    Awesome, best game! :D

    recursor says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:05pm

    Yeah. This is really good.

    namrog84 says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:50pm

    Great game! kind of hard! I wish there were more balls
    XD

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:59pm

    You should totally make a 5vs5 soccer game using this engine. Nice graphics, too.

    Randomasta says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:06am

    Hahahahahaha, that was fun :D
    We have a winner here

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 11:18am

    Wow! I mean, WOW! Awesome game. It's hard to believe it's possible to make something that complete in 48 hours!

    Dec 20, 2011 @ 8:45pm

    Awesome!

    Shigor says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 9:01pm

    This is probably the first soccer game I liked :) Congratulation :)

    LeReveur says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:05am

    I don't know how many times I've finished eat by a blob, but I finshed this funny game, and I really liked it. :)

    NToussaint says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 12:46am

    This game is REAL kool! The football dynamics are great. It could actually work as a complete football game. I like the adventure aspect. Like!

    bitbof says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 1:02am

    Great job man.
    Really fun and creative. I love how much effort you put
    into the intro. It sets the mood quite well. I plowed
    through all stages without dying once(having watched a
    buddy play it before me)

    It feels all very snappy and responsive, and the effects
    illustrate in an enjoyable way what's going on.

    There is a lot to learn from this entry.

    Awennor says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 4:36pm

    This game IS amazing, but the main mechanic didn't come out right. It feels like a chore trying to control the ball to get an good shot against those slimes, that should've been easier to accomplish. That kinda of breaks the game a little bit.

    Still, awesome, dude. Amazingly well polished game!

    mildmojo says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:44pm

    Very nicely done. Interesting control mechanic. It got easier after I figured out that you could charge up a kick with magic sparkly power. Still very difficult.

    Most of the time, I was running up to position for a kick and the ball would roll out of range by the time I started the kick or I would get too close and nudge it away before I had a chance to kick it.

    I think it might work better if you could run around holding space. When you got close enough to the ball, the character could stop moving, stop the ball, and begin a kick.

    Jorjon says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 7:05pm

    It reminded me of Sensible Soccer.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 12:14am

    WHOAMAGAWD. Please keep working on this... It's kind of hard at first, but I was able to eventually learn how to slaughter blobs. I was freaked out at first because I had NO idea how to score a goal in soccer. GREAT GAME! Thanks for making this.

    Aaron says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 12:28am

    Fantastic. Gorgeous graphics. Good translation too. :)

    Cosr says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 6:51am

    Really impressive for 48 hours' work. Very interesting idea.

    It's fun, though at times it can be a little too frustrating to control the ball. It would be nice if there was an easier way to change directions with the ball, rather than having to run around to the other side of it, then accidentaly bumping into it and sending it rolling away because the player is too close when they try to turn. (if there is a way to do this, I'm missing it. Maybe it's possible using the tap space to control thing, but it would still be nice to have a quicker way)

    jeffz says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 8:32am

    executed well, congrats!

    Yezu says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 1:13pm

    Difficult, but a lot of fun :)

    Dec 23, 2011 @ 5:50pm

    Ha, awesome idea!

    chardish says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 4:17am

    Solid.

    Matt Rix says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 6:37am

    Fantastic game overall. Super impressive that this was made in only 48 hours. I found the actual gameplay a bit slow/frustrating at some points, but overall a really cool game.

    Hazard says ...
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 4:05am

    Whoa, amazing game! :D

    shuanDang says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 5:22am

    I spent a lot of time juggling the ball to about 8 meters into the air. The graphics are cute but the ball gets away from me too often!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:06pm

    This is one of those games that makes me think "Okay, he made a soccer game before the competition and then changed it up in 48 hours" Great game, but I think this is another example of the theme hole. There needs to be multiple categories other than 'theme' in order to make entries believable.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:07pm

    P.s. don't listen to people who say "It's too hard", games should be challenging!!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:08pm

    I remember when Super Mario 1 was 'too hard'.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 12:10pm

    Oh and may I note now the timelapse. Good job!

    Dec 31, 2011 @ 7:25pm

    Pretty cool though the ball control is quite difficult.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Jan 1, 2012 @ 3:46am

    Wow wow wow. This is absurdly good. I love the graphics and I can't believe the detail in the intro scene. It's a bit difficult, but mainly just at the beginning of each stage when all the blobs are swarming you. If you get a bad bounce you might get screwed. But once you're down to the blue ones, it's mostly a chore. Still, I had a good time and it didn't go on too long, and this is definitely one of my favorites. Very impressive.

    wally2069 says ...
    Jan 1, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    The green blobs might move just a little too fast but otherwise great game.

    Jan 1, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Way too hard for me, but the concept is completely awesome! loved it :-D

    whilefun says ...
    Jan 1, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    Nice job!

    kosinus says ...
    Jan 2, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    Very original, and well executed!

    kumber says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    Well done! It reminds me of Soccer Kid, I don't know if this was your inspiration. I found the ontrol of the ball a little frustrating, as I keep kicking it instead of stopping it: however I think it is a matter of mastering the interface. Good work!

    kumber says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    P.S. I'm reading the post-mortem and now it is clear that the soccer theme "happened by accident" :)

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Jan 5, 2012 @ 7:02am

    That false opening was beautifully done, I was definitely surprised when the game shifted gears and delighted when I found out I'd be power-kicking soccer balls through alien goop.

    The ball grab move could be more powerful, or at least indicate some kind of radius so that I know when I'm in the right position. I'd usually stop running and hit space only to have the ball roll too far away.

    This is some innovative, wonderful stuff, I hope it grows into something larger!

    NeiloGD says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 9:27am

    Amazing work!! Very stressful to play at times, especially those bloody green blobs always getting me -_-

    supremefist says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:02am

    This game is ridiculously great!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]