Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 54 minutes, 21 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 54 minutes, 22 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    Alone - Dark Acre Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    WASD or arrow keys to move. QE to strafe.
    Mouse clicks to interact.
    Go be with your friends.

    View Dark Acre Jack's journal. | View all entries by Dark Acre Jack

    Ratings

    Coolness87%
    #9Mood4.00
    #19Theme3.95
    #86Audio3.15
    #91Community3.24
    #118Overall3.23
    #121Graphics3.44
    #185Innovation2.90
    #246Humor2.11
    #273Fun2.54

    Comments

    newton64 says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:14am

    Really excellent work. I was pleasantly surprised at how...futuristic the computers seem to work. Cool HUD bro.

    Dec 19, 2011 @ 10:47am

    Uhh, spooky. And somewhat unnerving. Interesting psychological work!

    The self-illuminating door-markers are a neat touch but I think the activation_range of the workstations is a tad too short. The first 4 I walked past thinking I didn't activate them.

    cakemonitor says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 4:33pm

    This game has some great graphics and fits the theme well. I also thought the audio was great for one person to have made over the course of a weekend. But for me this game was far too slow paced and after and after 10 minutes of having my slow-moving avatar follow the dots on the floor without any decisions being made by me, or my reflexes being tested, I quit the game because I was a bit bored. Still, a great example of how a very impressive looking game can be put together in a very short time. Well done.

    SeanAtr0n says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 5:46pm

    The computer consoles were nifty and I found your kitten ^-^
    I was disappointed with the feedback to the questions at the end.

    Andrew says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:03pm

    Moving felt a bit like walking on ice, most likely due to the fixed speed rotation. I'm not sure what the evaluation questions did but I seem to have unlocked the door with one to spare.

    Also I nearly killed myself on the live battery wires :d

    increpare says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 9:53pm

    I really liked this. I hated the terminal interface though, it was mega annoying (for instance, I had forgotten to answer one of the questions, but didn't know which one. I did not enjoy trying to go up to each of them activate them, &c.).

    Game creeped me out a bit.

    Loved the questions.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 1:30am

    I enjoyed the atmosphere in this one. It felt eerie and lonely down there. I got impatient and wanted to turn faster than the A-D keys would let me, so I think having mouse look (even if it is just left and right) would be nice. Also I missed one of the question panels and had to go back through several before I found the right one. It would be good to turn the panel a different color or somehow indicate that you have finished it. I really like how you did the panels and the text.
    I also thought the ladder climbing scene was a nice touch.

    The personality profiling questions were fun.
    Some of these are hard to choose from. Embezzlement or public nudity? I wasn't comfortable with either one :)

    Well done.

    ladron says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 2:47am

    Good job! I really liked the terminal interface (although the text display audio always cut out after a few lines). I would have like to use the mouse to look around.

    dcfedor says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 5:32pm

    Awesome work, Jack. Spot on with the theme, and very moody. The terminals were a bit clunky to use (would be nice to click once to show full text, then click again to advance text), but the clunky movement controls actually contributed to the sense of anxiety. Not sure how much sense some of the exam questions/answers made, but they were fun to read and very imaginative.

    Overall, excellent work! Some of the highest ratings I've given yet!

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 10:44pm

    Really cool game! I liked the atmosphere quite a bit. I have to admit though, reading through those psych evaluation questions was pretty boring to me so I decided to quit, especially because it seemed like there were like 12 more in the room.

    Jacob says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 5:57am

    pretty big game for the time frame! nice work on content.

    The dark screen was good for mood, but damaged my enjoyment. Lots of leaning into the screen squinting as the character turns slowly.

    Also: +1 for being in Van. I am over in Vic right now :) Wahoo!

    ratking says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 3:43pm

    Perfect atmosphere I gotta say. The setting reminded me of System Shock (2). Not bad!
    I couldn't open the door with the room full of questions (which were really well-written, BTW) and didn't know why. Surely it's not because I chose the wrong answers?
    Nevertheless, spooooky game, 5/5!

    Wanderlands says ...
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 6:53pm

    Played this alone in an entirely dark room and jumped a few times! The world hinted at through the terminals and your small window of vision is intriguing. I'd like to think that I'm practically blind because I clawed my eyes out after waking in stasis.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 9:04pm

    Great creepy atmosphere, although the highly restricted movement borders on frustrating. Terminal HUDs very slick. I answered the eval questions honestly and was judged wanting :)

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 1:18am

    cool graphics and an interesting concept, and a staggering amount of work you got done in one weekend! nicely done.

    jonnopon3000 says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    Well, played the whole thing and I was on edge the whole time. Needless to say, definitely one of the best I've played from this competition. Loved the commentated time-lapse, too - it's nice to get an insight into what was going on intellectually behind a project like this.
    Nice work!

    dr_soda says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    This was a really well-done concept. I like the effects on the consoles, and if I didn't know better I'd say there was a white noise filter overlaying the player's view at times.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    I can't get over the computer screen pop ups with the little 'jiggle/wiggle/jitter' animation. It's small things like that... they go a long way in making a lasting impression. Great entry!

    mildmojo says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    I watched the playthrough since I don't have Unity. Really nice work on the writing in the questions! I was eager to read each one after the next, and the choice at the end was always like a smart punchline. Now I am THIRSTY.

    Jan 9, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Thank you everyone who took the time to play, watch the video, and/or drop a rating. I really appreciate it.

    FredericRP says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 12:41pm

    Very good work, the green and red lights on the ground and doors are very well done and used ! But as said by someone above, this is too slow for me to complete the game I abandoned at the second door (I already stopped playing at the first one, but gave it a second thought some days later). Still I think this can be used as a more complete and advanced adventure game.

    FredericRP says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Also: is it a drawing of your cat ? ;-)

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 1:24am

    Nice. I regret not playing it in the dark. Don't know why I neglected to do so.

    I was a little disappointed with how you handled the mental state thing. Having the questions directly effect your mental state, and having them be more or less the only thing that did so, didn't really make me feel any sort of descent into madness. It makes sense from the perspective that the answers to the questions determine whether you were insane to begin with (given your situation), but displaying the player's mental state and having it drop like they're taking damage doesn't really vibe with that. Might be more effective to keep the mental state hidden, and make a reveal at the end whether the player is insane or not.

    I was fine with the slow walking speed, but the slow turning speed was too much.

    The audio was a bit too sparse. A few ambient sounds for the whispers to jump out from would have been amazing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]