Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 1 hour, 41 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 22

    December 16th-19th 2011 :: Theme: Alone

    Back to Browse Entries

    An Empty Room - Cosr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    An empty room. Scream to keep them away.

    Made in the last 22 hours of the competition (about 13 hours total, accounting for sleep). Has almost no play testing, so difficulty may not be perfect.

    The game is played using a microphone. It can potentially cause audio feedback, so be warned.

    Made using flixel. Art made in the GIMP. Sound recorded with a microphone and Audacity.

    EDIT: Created a new version of the game with a config screen that lets you adjust flash's microphone gain. The game is otherwise unchanged. Feel free to ignore this version for rating purposes.

    View Cosr's journal. | View all entries by Cosr

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #21Innovation3.83
    #41Mood3.58
    #106Audio3.07
    #108Theme3.44
    #264Humor2.00
    #291Graphics2.78
    #349Overall2.67
    #364Community2.42
    #527Fun1.92

    Comments

    Dec 19, 2011 @ 6:57am

    I actually really like this, I wish it had some point to it though. It's almost more of an interactive art project than a game. (Not that that's a bad thing necessarily.)

    I like your graphics, but there are so few of them that I can't give you very many stars for it.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 11:52am

    Interesting idea... but I have no microphone :(

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 1:41am

    o_o Wow... Not sure of what I just played, but I wont think to it too much, it would cause me horribles nightmares... That's my first 5 stars mood mark :)

    Cell says ...
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 7:14pm

    :O

    binary_girl says ...
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 2:46pm

    like the idea.. good stuff :)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 2:54pm

    I screamed and screamed and screamed but the little scab box still eroded. I have no idea wtf I just played, but I know that I played it. INNOVATIONS!

    Cosr says ...
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 4:00am

    Yeah, the way the game's set up, with the numbers I used and all, eventually the things scratching at the walls will break through. More and more just keep spawning, so they break through faster, and the effect of the volume on them drops off quadratically (with distance), so you can only push them back so far before you're not screaming loud enough. I didn't really leave time to tweak the gameplay at all (not that I would have made defeat evitable anyways).

    Sparrow says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    I don't have a microphone that can be plugged in my mixer atm.

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 3, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Aw yeah. Limiting my audience is almost as good as alienating them.

    Shaun Inman says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Couldn't play because even when screaming with input volume all the way up my volume never went above 12%. Maybe you could use the test scream as the target (or some percentage of).

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 4, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    Hmm...that's a good idea. Better than how I did it. My roommate had the same issue with his mac's mic, but the levels work well on my laptop's internal mic, which is what I tuned it for (I hit about 60% easy on an average yell).

    Or maybe give the player an option to adjust flash's microphone gain before starting or something. I cranked it down, because, with my mic, basically anything would put it up to 100% on the default gain settings.

    Foolish to assume every mic would give the same results I guess. I had a second, decent quality usb microphone that I used to record sound effects, but it never occurred to me to test the game using that.

    Pierrec says ...
    Jan 7, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    Ok...now my neighbours think I'm crazy. Thanks a lot.
    It was awesome to hear me screaming inside the box, a really weird experience.

    Tritax says ...
    Jan 8, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    It's a very unique approach and I think it comes together really well. Very interesting and very innovative ... but definitely not a control mechanic i want in a game. :P Thank you for submitting this game!

    mcc says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 4:44am

    Although I'm generally philosophically opposed to games using the microphone, this one did it really well. I wished for a moment there was a way to "win" but actually it's kind of neat like this, it's really just an endurance test on how long you can put up with the game's impossible demands. Full marks on graphics and audio, too. If "anti-games" are a genre then this is an excellent one.

    cards says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 8:38am

    Very intriguing take on the theme. While it's both fun and awkward to scream at your computer, I hesitate to call it a "game". As someone previously said, it's more like an interactive art piece -- which is still cool.

    I like it, and it rates well with me, but I would have liked to see a more tangible goal or direction.

    Cosr says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:00am

    Thanks for all the great feedback. I'm glad I ditched my first idea. I think this turned out far more interesting than my original plan ever would have.

    Fair enough on the not-really-a-game comments. I'll likely continue to call it a game myself (I already use the term incredibly loosely).

    0x64 says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 12:01pm

    Very high individual scores. Overall, little less because the content was limited because you lacked the time.
    5* mood, 5* theme

    whilefun says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    very awesome concept, but I have no idea how to not die. I made lots of noise and it sort of kept the dots at bay for a couple seconds...then I died again. Cool use of microphone though, VERY original :)

    Aaron says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Wowzers, indeed. Wicked experience.

    flyinpancake says ...
    Jan 9, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    If it had a score or goal I would of enjoyed it much more.
    I always like microphone goodies!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]