Ludum Dare Scandal 2010
I get these in the mail every so often. Seeing how this one relates to the community, I thought I’d share. My apologies, it seems my scanner is dead, so I had to photograph instead.
A suspicious letter showed up in the mail today.
It seems very professional.
I guess it’s time to renew our website…
In case you didn’t know, we also own ludumdare.org as a backup site, in case something crazy happens and we lose the dot com to domain thieves.
Isn’t that great?
Alternatively, you could use a registrar like Godaddy, then google for coupons. I usually spend less than $10 a year myself. Get hosting elsewhere though.
Have a nice day.




The company I work for got one of these. Absolute fraud, even if the exact letter-of-the-law is true (they do tell you that you’re transfering your domain to them) the intent is to defraud. I am sure they are raking it in (our office admin was about to fill it out and pay it) and it’s kind of sad that nothing is done about it.
Incidentally, they are not a CIRA-licenced domain provider (I complained to CIRA), i.e., they can’t do .ca domains (how amazing for the domain registry of CANADA) eh? If they were a CIRA provider they could probably be revoked, perhaps even once upon a time they were.
Dunno who’s running the .ORG/.COM/etc. providers (is it iCANN) but they are doing a shite job with these blokes. =) Excellent post and heads up to everybody.
Yeah, I get similar spam-scam mails for my domains every year… domains that are happily hosted with a fairly reliable ISP that I’ve used for many years now
Annoyingly, they mostly go to my parents address, and if they open them the think ‘ooh… that looks important!’…
My mom signed up for this. I managed to catch her before she transferred the domain. I don’t really know what to do about it now to help her other than warn her against doing it again and maybe calling her credit card company. Did you guys have any ideas?